Iron Maiden: ‘Senjutsu,’ New Double Album (and Band’s 17th) Set for 9/3 Release (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Sept. 3, Iron Maiden will return with Sentjutsu, the English heavy metal gods‘ 17th studio album and first in six years, following 2015’s The Book of Souls.

The news was officially revealed on Monday, arriving shortly after last week’s debut of a roaring new track titled “The Writing On The Wall,” which received an animated music video with its premiere:

As for Senjutsu, it was recorded in Paris with the band’s longtime producer Kevin Shirley and co-produced by Steve Harris.

The album features 10 tracks, with the shortest spanning four minutes and the longest stretching out to more than 12 and a half minutes … so expect some powerful stuff:

1. Senjutsu (8:20)
2. Stratego (4:59)
3. The Writing On The Wall (6:13)
4. Lost In A Lost World (9:31)
5. Days Of Future Past (4:03)
6. The Time Machine (7:09)
7. Darkest Hour (7:20)
8. Death Of The Celts (10:20)
9. The Parchment (12:39)
10. Hell On Earth (11:19)

Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on Deluxe 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on Super Deluxe Box Set from our Rock Cellar Store

Iron Maiden (Photo: John McMurtrie)

Iron Maiden (Photo: John McMurtrie)

More on the album, per a news release:

For Senjutsu – loosely translated as ‘tactics & strategy,’ the band once again enlisted the services of Mark Wilkinson to create the spectacular Samurai themed cover artwork, based on an idea by Steve Harris. With a running time of a little under 82 minutes, Senjutsu, like their previous record The Book Of Souls, will be a double CD/Triple vinyl album.

Harris: “We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book Of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds. There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

Lead singer Bruce Dickinson: “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the Legacy tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope! “

Related Posts