Iggy Pop’s New Song ‘Sonali’ is Unlike Anything You Might Be Expecting (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

72-year-old music legend Iggy Pop promises something new and unusual with Free, his new studio album scheduled for release on September 6.

So far, he’s released several songs from the record, each of them featuring a subdued, spoken-word vocal effect that creates a rather jarring sonic landscape.

The latest song is “Sonali,” which was premiered on Wednesday and continues that trend, the music skittering about in an almost Radiohead-esque fashion until horns show up and take it to another level. It’s wild:

Iggy Pop contextualized the album as follows:

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

And the album’s track listing:

1. “Free”
2.”Loves Missing”
3. “Sonali”
4. “James Bond”
5. “Dirty Sanchez”
6. “Glow In The Dark”
7. “Page”
8. “We Are The People”
9. “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”
10. “The Dawn”

Related Posts