“Here It Is: A Tribute To Leonard Cohen” Comes Out 10/14 Ft. James Taylor, Iggy Pop, Peter Gabriel & More (Listen Here)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On October 14th Blue Note records will release Here It Is: A Tribute To Leonard Cohen, featuring 12 new Cohen covers by a diverse cast of talented performers.

Pulled together by pop and jazz musician/producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock), the record offers jazz reinterpretations of classic (“Hallelujah” “Suzanne”), as well as a few obscure Cohen songs by James Taylor, Norah Jones, Sarah McLachlan, Iggy Pop, and a host of others – covering material drawn throughout decades of Cohen’s sterling career.

Album release on CD: Oct. 14, 2022 – Click Here to get at our Store ON SALE
2 LP Vinyl Release on Nov. 4th –  Click Here to pick up from our Rock Cellar Store  ON SALE

Here is the album trailer:

The legendary Canadian singer-songwriter, poet and novelist died in 2016 at the age of 82, and his impact continues to resonate in the music world for decades.

James Taylor: “Like almost everyone in my generation, I venerate Leonard Cohen. As soon as I began seeking out my own musical preferences, Cohen’s songs were among my few favorites and had a major influence on my own progression as a songwriter.”

Taylor admits that the song that he contributed was a bit unfamiliar to him: “I was drawn to one that was new to me, “Coming Back to You”. Larry was working to a deadline and opted to cut the song in Cohen’s original key, which was certainly at the bottom of my own range. But somehow moving me out of my comfort zone helped me find my own approach to the song. Like so much of Leonard Cohen’s writing, this lyric resonates deeply with his forlorn and hopeless take on the bleak landscape of love and attachment.”

In addition to Taylor, the album includes Leonard Cohen covers by: Norah Jones, Peter Gabriel, Gregory Porter, Sarah McLachlan, Iggy Pop, Mavis Staples, David Gray, Bill Frisell, Nathaniel Rateliff, Immanuel Wilkins and Luciana Souza.

Here, Iggy Pop performs the title cut off You Want It Darker – Cohen’s final (non-posthumous) album released just 1t days before his death.

For your listening enjoyment, here are some previews from the album…

Here It Is: A Tribute To Leonard Cohen – TRACKLIST
1. “Steer Your Way” – Norah Jones
2. “Here It Is” – Peter Gabriel
3. “Suzanne” – Gregory Porter
4. “Hallelujah” – Sarah McLachlan
5. “Avalanche” – Immanuel Wilkins
6. “Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye” – Luciana Souza
7. “Coming Back To You” – James Taylor
8. “You Want It Darker” – Iggy Pop
9. “If It Be Your Will” – Mavis Staples
10. “Seems So Long Ago, Nancy” – David Gray
11. “Famous Blue Raincoat” – Nathaniel Rateliff

Album release on CD: October 14, 2022 – Click Here to pre-order from our Store
2 LP Vinyl Release on Nov. 4th Click Here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store

Related Posts