Grey Daze, Chester Bennington’s Pre-Linkin Park Band, Announces ‘Amends’ LP, Premieres ‘Sickness’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

April 10 will be an important day for Linkin Park fans. It’s the day that Grey Daze, the Arizona-based band late vocalist Chester Bennington was in prior to joining LP and launching to superstardom, releases its new album, Amends.

Featuring newly recorded music and remastered vocals from Bennington, the project is going to be something of an exercise in catharsis for both Bennington’s former band mates — Sean Dowdall (drums), Mace Beyers (bass) and Cristin Davis (guitar) — and Linkin Park fans still reeling from Bennington’s sudden passing in 2017.

On Thursday, Grey Daze premiered a music video for “Sickness,” the album’s opening track. Featuring archival video footage of Bennington set to a narrative sequence, it can be seen below:

Explained Dowdall in a statement, the video has everything to do with Bennington:

“This is loosely based on a true story from when Chester was 15-years-old. He was being bullied at school and one day suffered a real beating. That was the day I assumed a role as protector and almost older brother figure to Chester that has lasted since, even after his passing.”

Grey Daze formed in 1993 and broke up in 1998, before Bennington tried out for an up-and-coming rock band named Linkin Park … and you know what happened next.

“Sickness” is the second song premiered thus far from Amends, following the re-worked “What’s In The Eye”:

Amends track listing:

  1. “Sickness”
  2. “Sometimes”
  3. “What’s In The Eye”
  4. “The Syndrome”
  5. “In Time”
  6. “Just Like Heroine”
  7. “B12”
  8. “Soul Song”
  9. “Morei Sky”
  10. “She Shines”
  11. “Shouting Out”

Related Posts