Greta Van Fleet Unveils Majestic New Video for ‘Heat Above,’ from New Album Out 4/16

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Nearly everything Greta Van Fleet does is steeped in rock and roll tradition. The young band thrives on a new, rejuvenated presentation of the Led Zeppelins and Pink Floyds of yesteryear while keeping the flames of rock burning bright.

On Thursday, the group debuted a new music video for “Heat Above,” the dramatic opening number of The Battle at Garden’s Gate, a new album due on April 16.

Through the smoky haze and elaborate outfits, Greta Van Fleet give the song the video treatment it deserves … it’s theatrical and bombastic in the same way much of the band’s activities tend to be. Watch:

Said the band of the video: “‘Heat Above’ is theatrical, eloquent, and exaggerated. This is a dream in the clouds, a moment of peace in the storm. Thematically, we are dead center in the cult of Heaven, surreal, strange and free.”

“Heat Above” is the latest song shared from The Battle at Garden’s Gate, which is due on April 16, and is available for pre-orders now.

Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Age of Machine,” a churning seven-minute rocker, was also premiered recently:

As was “My Way, Soon”:

The past few years have been momentous for Greta Van Fleet. World tours in front of huge audiences, endless buzz and acclaim were heaped their way. Their rapid success allowed the group to travel the globe (until 2020, of course), and those experiences helped shape the creative process that went into this new album. Per a news release:

The music reflects their spiritual and intellectual growth, increased awareness of the inequalities plaguing the modern world, and deep empathy for what other people are going through. 
“We realized that while growing up, we had been shielded by many things, and we were unaware of a lot of things,” says drummer Danny Wagner.  “And then we were thrown out into this huge world, and it was a bit of a culture shock at first.  But as we started to travel a lot, meet new and different people and experience different cultures, our definition of ‘normal’ changed.”
“I suppose that everything has changed except what got us here in the first place,” adds bassist Sam Kiszka.  “Everything – our perception of the world, perception of life itself, what it means to be an artist, what it means to be part of a beautiful, gorgeous society.  We’ve gained a larger understanding of why we’re all here.”

The Battle at Garden’s Gate was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Greg Kurstin (known for his recent work with the Foo Fighters, among many other projects).

The track listing:

1. Heat Above
2. My Way, Soon
3. Broken Bells
4. Built By Nations
5. Age Of Machine
6. Tears Of Rain
7. Stardust Chords
8. Light My Love
9. Caravel
10. The Barbarians
11. Trip The Light Fantastic
12. The Weight Of Dreams

Related Posts