Watch Greta Van Fleet Play “Heat Above” on ‘Kimmel’; New LP ‘The Battle at Garden’s Gate’ Out Tomorrow 4/16

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Arriving with much anticipation this Friday, April 16, is The Battle at Garden’s Gate, the new studio album from young rockers Greta Van Fleet.

The band has previewed it in recent weeks with a host of song premieres and televised performances, the latest coming Wednesday night on Jimmy Kimmel Live — a playthrough of “Heat Above,” the album’s opening track and a perfect encapsulation of the band’s reverence for what came before:

Greta Van Fleet previously debuted a music video for the song, as well:

Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“The Battle at Garden’s Gate is about hope and overcoming the challenges that humanity faces,” says the band’s Sam Kiszka, “We live in a world powered by superficial institutions and this album is a reminder that it’s up to us to sing out of the silence.”

Said producer Greg Kurstin, known for his work with acts including Adele, Paul McCartney and the Foo Fighters:

“Hearing these songs evolve into expansive soundscapes took me on an amazing journey. I love that they explored these complex song structures, and the band reached for chords, melodies and lyrics that stretch beyond the usual. Most of all, I admire that Greta Van Fleet have stayed true to themselves.”

Other pre-release singles include “Age of Machine,” a sprawling, nearly seven-minute epic:

The past few years have been momentous for Greta Van Fleet. World tours in front of huge audiences, endless buzz and acclaim were heaped their way. Their rapid success allowed the group to travel the globe (until 2020, of course), and those experiences helped shape the creative process that went into this new album. Per a news release:

The music reflects their spiritual and intellectual growth, increased awareness of the inequalities plaguing the modern world, and deep empathy for what other people are going through. 
“We realized that while growing up, we had been shielded by many things, and we were unaware of a lot of things,” says drummer Danny Wagner.  “And then we were thrown out into this huge world, and it was a bit of a culture shock at first.  But as we started to travel a lot, meet new and different people and experience different cultures, our definition of ‘normal’ changed.”
“I suppose that everything has changed except what got us here in the first place,” adds bassist Sam Kiszka.  “Everything – our perception of the world, perception of life itself, what it means to be an artist, what it means to be part of a beautiful, gorgeous society.  We’ve gained a larger understanding of why we’re all here.”

The track listing:

1. Heat Above
2. My Way, Soon
3. Broken Bells
4. Built By Nations
5. Age Of Machine
6. Tears Of Rain
7. Stardust Chords
8. Light My Love
9. Caravel
10. The Barbarians
11. Trip The Light Fantastic
12. The Weight Of Dreams

Related Posts