Greta Van Fleet Debuts ‘Heat Above,’ from New Album ‘The Battle at Garden’s Gate’ Out 4/16 (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Rising young rockers Greta Van Fleet are gearing up to unleash The Battle at Garden’s Gate, the band’s second proper full-length album and the follow-up to 2018’s Anthem of the Peaceful Army.

The album is due on April 16, and is available for pre-orders now.

Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

On Wednesday, Greta Van Fleet debuted a new song, “Heat Above,” an epic power ballad featuring keyboard flourishes and soaring vocals from dynamic lead singer Josh Kiszka:

“There’s plenty of love left in this world, even though it may not seem like it,” said bassist/keyboardist Sam Kiszka. “And that’s what ‘Heat Above’ is about, rising to the stars together.”

“Heat Above” is the latest of a few songs released thus far ahead of The Battle at Garden’s Gate. Here’s a music video for “Age of Machine,” an epic, seven-minute rocker:

And a live version of the song:

There’s also “My Way, Soon,” which was originally released in 2020 and was the first taste of a new record:

The past few years have been momentous for the young band. World tours in front of huge audiences, endless buzz and acclaim were heaped their way. Their rapid success allowed the group to travel the globe (until 2020, of course), and those experiences helped shape the creative process that went into this new album. Per a news release:

The music reflects their spiritual and intellectual growth, increased awareness of the inequalities plaguing the modern world, and deep empathy for what other people are going through. 
“We realized that while growing up, we had been shielded by many things, and we were unaware of a lot of things,” says drummer Danny Wagner.  “And then we were thrown out into this huge world, and it was a bit of a culture shock at first.  But as we started to travel a lot, meet new and different people and experience different cultures, our definition of ‘normal’ changed.”
“I suppose that everything has changed except what got us here in the first place,” adds bassist Sam Kiszka.  “Everything – our perception of the world, perception of life itself, what it means to be an artist, what it means to be part of a beautiful, gorgeous society.  We’ve gained a larger understanding of why we’re all here.”

The Battle at Garden’s Gate was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Greg Kurstin (known for his recent work with the Foo Fighters, among many other projects).

The track listing:

1. Heat Above
2. My Way, Soon
3. Broken Bells
4. Built By Nations
5. Age Of Machine
6. Tears Of Rain
7. Stardust Chords
8. Light My Love
9. Caravel
10. The Barbarians
11. Trip The Light Fantastic
12. The Weight Of Dreams

Related Posts