Greta Van Fleet: Stream the Soaring ‘Broken Bells,’ from the Band’s New Album Out 4/16

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Like much of what Greta Van Fleet does, “Broken Bells” has a reverent affection for what came before — and the upstart rock band‘s new song debuted Friday packs quite a powerful tone, thanks as always to the vocals of lead singer Josh Kiszka.

It’s the latest preview of the group’s upcoming full-length album The Battle at Garden’s Gate, which has been previewed in recent weeks with a few songs ahead of its release date on April 16.

Stream “Broken Bells,” which builds steadily toward a resonant finale during its nearly six-minute run time, below:

Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Battle at Garden’s Gate on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Greta Van Fleet intends for “Broken Bells” to be a song of inspiration, per a news release.

“Broken Bells is what the fetter of society does to impact a pure and innocent soul,” said Sam Kiszka. “Our intention is to remove the obligation of generational synthetic expectations; break down these walls and not build new ones.”

The track joins other recently shared tracks off the album, which is Greta Van Fleet’s second full-length album.

Here’s the epic music video for album opener “Heat Above”:

And a blistering live performance of the track:

There’s also the nearly seven-minute “Age of Machine”:

As well as the energetic “My Way, Soon”:

The past few years have been momentous for Greta Van Fleet. World tours in front of huge audiences, endless buzz and acclaim were heaped their way. Their rapid success allowed the group to travel the globe (until 2020, of course), and those experiences helped shape the creative process that went into this new album. Per a news release:

The music reflects their spiritual and intellectual growth, increased awareness of the inequalities plaguing the modern world, and deep empathy for what other people are going through. 
“We realized that while growing up, we had been shielded by many things, and we were unaware of a lot of things,” says drummer Danny Wagner.  “And then we were thrown out into this huge world, and it was a bit of a culture shock at first.  But as we started to travel a lot, meet new and different people and experience different cultures, our definition of ‘normal’ changed.”
“I suppose that everything has changed except what got us here in the first place,” adds bassist Sam Kiszka.  “Everything – our perception of the world, perception of life itself, what it means to be an artist, what it means to be part of a beautiful, gorgeous society.  We’ve gained a larger understanding of why we’re all here.”

The Battle at Garden’s Gate was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Greg Kurstin (known for his recent work with the Foo Fighters, among many other projects).

The track listing:

1. Heat Above
2. My Way, Soon
3. Broken Bells
4. Built By Nations
5. Age Of Machine
6. Tears Of Rain
7. Stardust Chords
8. Light My Love
9. Caravel
10. The Barbarians
11. Trip The Light Fantastic
12. The Weight Of Dreams

Related Posts