Gorillaz Set Fall North American Tour — Damon Albarn Project’s Innovative, Groundbreaking ‘Virtual Band’ Project


Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This fall, Britpop/English music icon Damon Albarn will reconvene his Gorillaz project for a North American tour that will truly be a spectacle — and, per a news release, marks the ‘only planned North American outing on the horizon’ for the genre-bending virtual music project Albarn first launched nearly two decades ago.

Featuring a 14-piece Gorillaz live band and a “varying cast of guest performers,” the 21-date arena tour was announced on Monday and is not to be missed by anyone whose interest was sparked by the project over the years, which amassed global popularity and expanded Albarn’s already impressive musical resume with contemporary classics including “Feel Good Inc.” (which Albarn performed as a surprise guest for Billie Eilish at Coachella last month):

The dates for this Fall 2022 tour:

Sun Sep 11  – Vancouver, BC  – Rogers Arena
Mon Sep 12  – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
Wed Sep 14  – Portland, OR –Moda Center
Sat Sep 17  – Las Vegas, NV  – Life is Beautiful Festival
Mon Sep 19  – Salt Lake City, UT – Vivint Smart Home Arena
Wed Sep 21  – San Francisco, CA  – Chase Center
Fri Sep 23  – Los Angeles, CA – Kia Forum
Mon Sep 26  – Phoenix, AZ  – Footprint Center
Wed Sep 28  – Denver, CO  – Ball Arena
Fri Sep 30  – Austin, TX  – Moody Center
Sat Oct 01  – Irving, TX  – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
Mon Oct 03  – Chicago, IL  – United Center
Wed Oct 05  – Detroit, MI  – Little Caesars Arena
Thu Oct 06  – Toronto, ON  – Scotiabank Arena
Sat Oct 08  – Montreal, QC – Bell Centre
Tue Oct 11  – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Wed Oct 12  – Brooklyn, NY – Barclays Center
Fri Oct 14  – Philadelphia, PA – The Met Philadelphia
Mon Oct 17  – Columbia, MD  – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Wed Oct 19  – Alpharetta, GA  – Ameris Bank Amphitheater
Fri Oct 21  – Orlando, FL – Amway Center
Sun Oct 23  – Miami, FL – FTX Arena

EARTHGANG supports September 11 through October 19
Jungle supports October 21 and 23

More on Gorillaz’ legacy, per a news release:

A truly global phenomenon, Gorillaz have achieved success in entirely ground-breaking and unique ways, touring the world from San Diego to Syria, Montevideo to Manchester and winning numerous awards including the coveted Jim Henson Creativity Honor. The band is recognized by The Guinness Book Of World Records as the planet’s Most Successful Virtual Act.

Gorillaz is currently bringing its spontaneous globe-trekking carnival to stages from South America to Europe, on its current 2022 World Tour. The Fall 2022 dates comprise its only currently planned visit to North America. Support from Vancouver through Atlanta will come from EARTHGANG, while Jungle will support in Orlando and Miami.



Related Posts