George Harrison: Hear Unreleased “Isn’t It A Pity (Take 27),” from ‘All Things Must Pass’ 50th Anniversary Set Out 8/6

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

“Isn’t It A Pity (Take 27)” is a previously unreleased recording from the George Harrison vaults that is being made available today, July 30, ahead of the lavish 50th anniversary edition of All Things Must Pass, which will be released on Aug. 6. Harrison’s album sessions for the project began in earnest just six weeks after the April 1970 breakup of The Beatles, leading to a wealth of recordings from George Harrison and a myriad of additional musicians.

This alternate take is an early edit of the composition that would grow to become one of Harrison’s most beloved solo songs, in addition to one of the standout moments on All Things Must Pass — a song that appears twice on the album, no less. “Take 27” is one of three versions of the song that turn up on the reissue, the other two being the original studio demo and another outtake.

The version shared today has an accompanying animated music video directed by Alan Bibby and Jonny Kofoed of New Zealand-based creative house, Assembly:

Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary on 3-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary on 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary on 5-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order All Things Must Pass 50th Anniversary on Super Deluxe 8-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

More on the productive recording sessions for what would become All Things Must Pass — and its bounty of material left on the cutting-room floor that would go into the George Harrison archives for years:

The first day, May 26, saw George Harrison record fifteen songs backed by Ringo Starr and his longtime friend, bassist Klaus Voormann, beginning with “All Things Must Pass.” The following day, May 27, George ran through an additional fifteen songs solo for co-producer Phil Spector on his own.

While a remarkable amount of the songs demoed made the triple LP, not everything made the cut and now for the first time ever, in celebration of the 50th anniversary of All Things Must Pass, all 30 demos are being made available, including 26 tracks never before officially released as well as several songs that didn’t make the album like “Cosmic Empire,” “Going Down To Golders Green,” “Dehra Dun,” “Sour Milk Sea,” “Om Hare Om,” Window Window,” “Beautiful Girl,” “Mother Divine,” and “Nowhere To Go.”

More on the wealth of material included on the 50th anniversary edition of the classic George Harrison album:

All Things Must Pass has now been completely remixed from the original tapes for a stunning suite of 50th anniversary releases that fulfills Harrison’s longtime desire. Executive produced by Dhani Harrisonproduct produced by David Zonshine and mixed by triple GRAMMY® Award-winning engineer Paul Hicks(The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, John Lennon), the new mix transforms the album by sonically upgrading it – making it sound brighter, fuller and better than ever before.

As for of the musicians who accompanied Harrison in embarking on this album project:

Harrison’s close friendship with Bob Dylan begat two songs: the album-opening “I’d Have You Anytime” was co-written with Dylan, while the classic “If Not For You” was at the time an unreleased Dylan composition. The All Things Must Pass Super Deluxe Edition includes previously unreleased demo recordings of both songs as well as “Nowhere To Go” and “I Don’t Want To Do It,” another original Dylan song later recorded by George for a 1985 soundtrack but remains unrecorded by Dylan himself.

George brought together a stunning roster of friends and fellow musicians to record All Things Must Pass, including Ringo Starr, Klaus Voormann, and Billy Preston, along with Eric Clapton and his new American bandmates, Carl Radle, Bobby Whitlock, and Jim Gordon (soon to be known collectively as Derek and the Dominoes). Badfinger’s Pete Ham, Tom Evans, Joey Molland, and Mike Gibbons contributed additional acoustics and percussion. Phil Spector’s desire for multiple pianos, layers of acoustic guitars, and more drums saw the addition of Peter Frampton and Jerry Shirley from Humble Pie, Spooky Tooth’s Gary Wright, Plastic Ono Band veteran and future Yes drummer Alan White, Traffic’s Dave Mason, Procol Harum’s Gary Brooker, and the in-demand horn section of Bobby Keys and Jim Price. Pete Drake, legendary Nashville session musician provided pedal steel guitar on several tracks. Arrangements for strings and horns came from longtime collaborator John Barham.

The various versions of the release feature their own track listings — for an example of all of the material, here’s the 5-CD edition’s listing:


Disc One (Main Album)

  1. I’d Have You Anytime
  2. My Sweet Lord
  3. Wah-Wah
  4. Isn’t It A Pity (Version One)
  5. What Is Life
  6. If Not For You
  7. Behind That Locked Door
  8. Let It Down
  9. Run Of The Mill

Disc Two (Main Album Cont.)

  1. Beware Of Darkness
  2. Apple Scruffs
  3. Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
  4. Awaiting On You All
  5. All Things Must Pass
  6. I Dig Love
  7. Art Of Dying
  8. Isn’t It A Pity (Version Two)
  9. Hear Me Lord
  10. Out Of The Blue *
  11. It’s Johnny’s Birthday *
  12. Plug Me In *
  13. I Remember Jeep *
  14. Thanks For The Pepperoni *

* Newly Remastered/Original Mi

Disc Three (Day 1 Demos – Tuesday 26 May 1970)

  1. All Things Must Pass (Take 1) †
  2. Behind That Locked Door (Take 2)
  3. I Live For You (Take 1)
  4. Apple Scruffs (Take 1)
  5. What Is Life (Take 3)
  6. Awaiting On You All (Take 1) †
  7. Isn’t It A Pity (Take 2)
  8. I’d Have You Anytime (Take 1)
  9. I Dig Love (Take 1)
  10. Going Down To Golders Green (Take 1)
  11. Dehra Dun (Take 2)
  12. Om Hare Om (Gopala Krishna) (Take 1)
  13. Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll) (Take 2)
  14. My Sweet Lord (Take 1) †
  15. Sour Milk Sea (Take 1)

Disc Four (Day 2 Demos – Wednesday 27 May 1970)

  1. Run Of The Mill (Take 1) †
  2. Art Of Dying (Take 1)
  3. Everybody/Nobody (Take 1)
  4. Wah-Wah (Take 1)
  5. Window Window (Take 1)
  6. Beautiful Girl (Take 1)
  7. Beware Of Darkness (Take 1)
  8. Let It Down (Take 1)
  9. Tell Me What Has Happened To You (Take 1)
  10. Hear Me Lord (Take 1)
  11. Nowhere To Go (Take 1)
  12. Cosmic Empire (Take 1)
  13. Mother Divine (Take 1)
  14. I Don’t Want To Do It (Take 1)
  15. If Not For You (Take 1)

† Previously Released

Disc Five (Session Outtakes and Jams)

  1. Isn’t It A Pity (Take 14)
  2. Wah-Wah (Take 1)
  3. I’d Have You Anytime (Take 5)
  4. Art Of Dying (Take 1)
  5. Isn’t It A Pity (Take 27)
  6. If Not For You (Take 2)
  7. Wedding Bells (Are Breaking Up That Old Gang Of Mine) (Take 1)
  8. What Is Life (Take 1)
  9. Beware Of Darkness (Take 8)
  10. Hear Me Lord (Take 5)
  11. Let It Down (Take 1)
  12. Run Of The Mill (Take 36)
  13. Down To the River (Rocking Chair Jam) (Take 1)
  14. Get Back (Take 1)
  15. Almost 12 Bar Honky Tonk (Take 1)
  16. It’s Johnny’s Birthday (Take 1)
  17. Woman Don’t You Cry For Me (Take 5)

Related Posts