Garbage Debuts ‘The Men Who Rule the World,’ New Album ‘No Gods No Masters’ Out 6/11 (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On June 11, long-running alt/rock band Garbage will release a new album titled No Gods No Masters. It will be the band’s seventh studio album to date and the follow-up to 2016’s Strange Little Birds, so it’s been a long time coming.

If you’ve been paying any attention to Garbage’s social media channels over the past few years, you’ve noticed a particular passion and intensity from the group (and frontwoman Shirley Manson), reacting to the various relevant news topics of the day and social awareness campaigns.

Garbage’s music has always had undertones of (well crafted) social commentary, as well, and that’s definitely the case with “The Men Who Rule the World,” the debut track shared from the new record accompanying the announcement:

Said Manson of the new record in a statement:

“This is our seventh record, the significant numerology of which affected the DNA of its content: the seven virtues, the seven sorrows, and the seven deadly sins. It was our way of trying to make sense of how fucking nuts the world is and the astounding chaos we find ourselves in. It’s the record we felt that we had to make at this time. Major thanks and kudos to the genius Chilean artist and film director Javi Miamor for the incredible visual accompaniment to our brand new song!”

A Deluxe Edition of the album will include a bonus disc featuring a collection of the band’s much loved covers released in the last eight years for Record Store Day, featuring Brody Dalle, Brian Aubert, Screaming Females and John Doe & Exene Cervenka as well as a cover of Bowie’s “Starman.”

Click here to pre-order the Deluxe Edition on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order the album on neon green vinyl from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing:


1. The Men Who Rule the World
2. The Creeps
3. Uncomfortably Me
4. Wolves
5. Anonymous XXX
6. Waiting for God
7. Godhead
8. A Woman Destroyed
9. Flipping the Bird
10. No Gods No Masters
11. This City Will Kill You


1. No Horses
2. Starman
3. Girls Talk featuring Brody Dalle
4. Because the Night featuring Screaming Females
5. On Fire
6. The Chemicals featuring Brian Aubert
7. Destroying Angels featuring John Doe & Exene Cervenka
8. Time Will Destroy Everything

And more about how the new record came about:

Produced by Garbage and long-time collaborator Billy Bush, the seeds for No Gods No Masters were planted in summer 2018 in the desert in Palm Springs. The quartet – Manson and bandmates Duke Erikson, Steve Marker and Butch Vig – convened at a home belonging to one of Marker’s relatives and sketched out the skeleton of the album over two weeks, jamming, experimenting and feeling the songs out. They then took those demos and went their separate ways before connecting in Los Angeles to finish the record.

Related Posts