Hear the Foo Fighters’ Rockin’ Cover of Chuck Berry’s ‘Run Rudolph Run;’ New Amazon Music Holiday Gig Streaming Now

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Tuesday night, Amazon Prime Video premiered a special Amazon Music Holiday Plays concert featuring the Foo Fighters. Filmed recently at the Ace Hotel in Los Angeles, the special Yuletide concert was hosted by rapper Lil Nas X and featured several of the Foos’ biggest hits, as well as a special cover of Chuck Berry’s classic “Run Rudolph Run.”

In connection with the concert, a studio-recorded version of the band’s cover popped up on Amazon Music, as well:

If you’re interested in watching the full Amazon Music Holiday Plays concert, click here.

In addition to the Foo Fighters’ spirited “Run Rudolph Run,” the band played its new single, “Shame Shame,” as well as hits “Times Like These,” “Learn to Fly” and “Best of You.”

High-energy covers of “Run Rudolph Run” are the trend these days, as recently Conan O’Brien, Jimmy Vivino and the Basic Cable Band contributed a lively rendition of their own to the Project Kids-Care telethon for underserved children in Los Angeles:

As for the Foo Fighters’ Amazon Prime holiday gig, it’s the second recent streaming concert event from the band in a few months, coming after their intimate set at the Troubadour in West Hollywood, a key part of the #SOSFest fundraising virtual event geared around helping independent music venues hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic and shutdowns.

Dave Grohl, meanwhile, has also kept especially busy lately with his #TheHanukkahSessions covers series with pal/producer Greg Kurstin. Premiering a new cover of a prominent Jewish artist each night of Hanukkah, the set has thus far featured renditions of classics from the Beastie Boys, Drake, Leslie West and Mountain, Peaches and Bob Dylan:

Medicine at Midnight, the new Foo Fighters album, meanwhile, is due out in early February.

Click here to pre-order Medicine at Midnight from our Rock Cellar Store.

Per a press release: “Produced by Greg Kurstin and Foo Fighters, engineered by Darrell Thorp and mixed by Mark “Spike” Stent, Medicine at Midnight packs the following nine songs into a tight-ass 37 minutes.”

Here’s its track listing:

  1. Making A Fire
  2. Shame Shame
  3. Cloudspotter
  4. Waiting On A War
  5. Medicine At Midnight
  6. No Son Of Mine
  7. Holding Poison
  8. Chasing Birds
  9. Love Dies Young

The Foo Fighters are Dave Grohl, Chris Shiflett, Taylor Hawkins, Pat Smear, Nate Mendel and Rami Jaffee.

Related Posts