Foo Fighters Celebrate Dave Grohl’s 52nd Birthday with ‘Waiting on a War,’ Inspired By His Childhood in D.C.

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Thursday, Jan. 14 marks the 52nd birthday of Dave Grohl — and the Foo Fighters mastermind saw fit to honor the occasion by sharing “Waiting on a War,” another new song from the band‘s upcoming record, Medicine at Midnight (which is due out Feb. 5).

But this isn’t just another song from a pre-release promotional cycle, you see. Grohl grew up in Washington, D.C., and before he was a full-fledged punker playing the dive bars in the community, he was a kid. And that kid, he explained in a statement on the Foos’ social media pages, was afraid of war.

Here’s the new Foo Fighters track:

That song, premiered early Thursday, is rather fitting for these fractious times, a week removed from the storming of the U.S. Capitol building in D.C. and everything else going on in the never-ending and exhausting news cycle.

The band will appear on Jimmy Kimmel Live Thursday evening to play a song — maybe this new one? We’ll find out.

“Waiting on a War” is the third song shared thus far from Medicine at Midnight, following the first single, “Shame Shame”:

And “No Son of Mine,” a raucous anthem that was premiered at the stroke of midnight on Jan. 1:

Per a press release: “Produced by Greg Kurstin and Foo Fighters, engineered by Darrell Thorp and mixed by Mark “Spike” Stent, Medicine at Midnight packs the following nine songs into a tight-ass 37 minutes.”

The album will be out on Feb. 5.

Click here to pre-order Medicine at Midnight from our Rock Cellar Store.

Here’s its track listing:

  1. Making A Fire
  2. Shame Shame
  3. Cloudspotter
  4. Waiting On A War
  5. Medicine At Midnight
  6. No Son Of Mine
  7. Holding Poison
  8. Chasing Birds
  9. Love Dies Young

The Foo Fighters are Dave Grohl, Chris Shiflett, Taylor Hawkins, Pat Smear, Nate Mendel and Rami Jaffee.

Related Posts