Foo Fighters Return with Funky New Song ‘Shame Shame’ — New Album ‘Medicine at Midnight’ Out in February

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Foo Fighters are back. After some cryptic teasing in recent days, Dave Grohl and the band shared a new song, “Shame Shame,” on Saturday (just ahead of their Saturday Night Live performance).

The Foos are known for epic, arena-ready anthems bursting with guitars — think of “The Pretender,” “Monkey Wrench” and the like — but this new track definitely strays from that formula.

It’s an ambitious track to release as a single after a few years away from the game, so to speak. A more laid-back song with a steady rhythmic sway, “Shame Shame” is definitely a new direction for the band. It premiered Saturday evening, in connection with the Foos’ performance on Saturday Night Live:

The band gave the song its world premiere on SNL:

The Foos also performed a powerful rendition of “Times Like These” later in the show:

“Shame Shame” is the first song released from the new Foo Fighters album, Medicine at Midnight, which will be released on Feb. 5, 2021.

Click here to pre-order Medicine at Midnight from our Rock Cellar Store.

While “Shame Shame” might throw you off guard a bit, that seems to be what Grohl and the gang were up to with this record, the follow-up to 2017’s eclectic Concrete & Gold.

Back in May, Grohl talked it up as follows:

“It’s filled with anthemic, huge, sing-along rock songs. It’s kind of like a dance record, but not an EDM, disco, modern dance record. It’s got groove,” said Grohl. “To me, it’s our David Bowie’s Let’s Dance record. That’s what we wanted to make, we wanted to make this really up, fun record.”

The album is titled Medicine at Midnight, and will be the Foo Fighters’ tenth album overall.

Per a press release: “Produced by Greg Kurstin and Foo Fighters, engineered by Darrell Thorp and mixed by Mark “Spike” Stent, Medicine at Midnight packs the following nine songs into a tight-ass 37 minutes.”

Here’s its track listing, as previewed at the band’s official site along with album pre-orders:

  1. Making A Fire
  2. Shame Shame
  3. Cloudspotter
  4. Waiting On A War
  5. Medicine At Midnight
  6. No Son Of Mine
  7. Holding Poison
  8. Chasing Birds
  9. Love Dies Young

The Foo Fighters are Dave Grohl, Chris Shiflett, Taylor Hawkins, Pat Smear, Nate Mendel and Rami Jaffee.

Related Posts