Coming 9/4 and 9/18: Fleetwood Mac ‘1969 to 1974’ Box Sets; ‘Then Play On’ Reissue (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This upcoming month of September 2020 is bringing with it two big archival releases dating back to the early days of Fleetwood Mac.

Fleetwood Mac: 1969 to 1974  — out 9/4 (Click here to pre-order the set from our Rock Cellar Store).

A wealth of material, this box set includes remastered versions of all seven studio albums the band recorded between 1969 and 1974, several bonus tracks, and an unreleased 1974 concert recorded just a few months before Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks joined the band. The set covers a five-year timeframe that encompasses several different band lineups, from founding members Fleetwood, Green, McVie and Spencer; to later additions like Danny Kirwan, Christine McVie, Dave Walker, Bob Welch, and Bob Weston. 

There will also be a 4-LP set of the 1969 to 1974 collection as well — click here to pre-order a copy.

Fleetwood Mac: Then Play On reissue — out 9/18 (Click here to pre-order the CD and click here for the 2-LP set from our Rock Cellar Store).

Originally announced earlier this year, a special trip back in time to the early days of Fleetwood Mac is coming on Sept. 18 when Then Play On, the band’s 1969 album, is reissued.

Then Play On marked the end of an era for Fleetwood Mac. The 1969 album — the first with guitarist/vocalist Danny Kirwan — was the third release from the band, but was the final album with co-founder Peter Green and predates the Stevie Nicks/Lindsey Buckingham era of the band by six years.

The album is noteworthy for featuring “Oh Well,” which became the first Fleetwood Mac single to land on the Hot 100 chart, peaking at No. 55.

Per a news release, “this deluxe, expanded bookpack edition of the album will feature the original UK tracklisting, plus four bonus tracks; all mastered at half speed for dynamic range, and with the vinyl 2 LP version being pressed on 180g audiophile black vinyl.”

The track listing:

1. Coming Your Way
2. Closing My Eyes
3. Fighting For Madge
4. When You Say
5. Show-Biz Blues
6. Under Way
7. One Sunny Day
8. Although The Sun Is Shining
9. Rattlesnake Shake
10. Without You
11. Searching For Madge
12. My Dream
13. Like Crying
14. Before The Beginning
15. Oh Well – Pt. 1
16. Oh Well – Pt. 2
17. The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)
18. World In Harmony

Related Posts