Everclear Commemorates 30 Years with Digital Reissue of 1993 Debut ‘World of Noise’; On Tour This Summer


Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This past Friday, June 10, Art Alexakis and his long-running alt/rock band Everclear revisited World of Noise, the group’s full-length debut album from 1993.

The record was given its first-ever release on digital streaming platforms as part of the reissue, which also featured some bonus tracks from the recording sessions that had yet to be made available publicly.

Originally recorded in a friend’s basement for $400, World of Noise was the first release from Everclear, prior to its emergence in the mid-1990s as an alt/rock staple with era-defining radio hits like “Father of Mine” and “Santa Monica.” While the feel of the record is quite different from what would come a few years later, there are hints at the more accessible — but still edgy — material that was in the works.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Everclear (@everclear)

In our new interview, Alexakis said of the World of Noise reissue:

“It’s almost like a document more than a record. It’s a document of where I was at the time. It was honest, it was really genuine, you know? I grew up with bands in the 60s and 70s, and 80s. And I always felt like, what you put out on record is not necessarily what you put out live. Live should be louder, more intense, more immediate, because you don’t have the dimensions that you can do on a record. So it’s two different things. I’ve always felt that. That being said, as Everclear evolved and I evolved as a writer, and a producer, and a player, the music changed, but honestly, our live show has always been pretty balls to the wall rock and roll.”

Listen to the World of Noise reissue below.

Everclear’s 30th anniversary tour rolls on this summer; catch a show:

Thursday, June 9
Friday, June 10
Saturday, June 11
Sunday, June 12
Tuesday, June 14
Thursday, June 16
Friday, June 17
Saturday, June 18
Sunday, June 19
Wednesday, June 22
Thursday, June 23
Friday, June 24
Saturday, June 25
Thursday, June 30
Friday, July 1
Sunday, July 3
Wednesday, July 6
Thursday, July 7
Friday, July 8
Saturday, July 9
Wednesday, July 13
Thursday, July 14
Friday, July 15
Saturday, July 16
Saturday, August 6
Saturday, August 13
Saturday, August 27
Saturday, September 3
Emmett, ID @ Stoney’s Road House
Grand Junction, CO @ Los Colonias Amphitheater
Colorado Springs, CO @ Sunshine Studios
Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Odessa, TX @ The Ector Theatre
Waco, TX @ The Backyard
Lubbock, TX @ Cook’s Garage
Norman, OK @ Riverwind Casino ^
Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall
Virginia Beach, VA @ Beachfront Concert Series +
Glenside, PA @ Keswick Theatre
Washington, PA @ Hollywood Casino at The Meadows
Princeton, WV @ Food Truck Frenzy
Charleston, WV @ Haddad Riverfront Park +
Greenville, SC @ Cowboy Up Nightlife
Baltimore, MD @ Hammerjacks
Nashville, TN @ Sky Deck
Lexington, KY @ Manchester Music Hall
Franklin, OH @ JD Legends
Streator, IL @ Streator’s 4th of July Celebration +
Millville, NJ @ Levoy Theatre
Jim Thorpe, PA @ Penn’s Peak
Schenectady, NY @ Frog Alley Brewing Co.
Hammondsport, NY @ Pavilion at Point of the Bluff Vineyards
Kannapolis, NC @ Village Park Amphitheater +
San Pedro, CA @ Flannel Nation Festival at Port of Los Angeles^
Niagara Falls, ON @ The Avalon Ballroom Theatre at Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort ^
Henderson, NV @ M Resort and Casino
^ Everclear only; no Fastball or The Nixons
+ indicates free show



Related Posts