Out Now: Envy of None, ft. Rush’s Alex Lifeson, Releases Self-Titled Debut (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Envy of None is the brand new musical project featuring guitarist Alex Lifeson, known to the world for years as the guitarist of Canadian prog-rock heroes Rush — and today, April 8, the band releases its self-titled debut album.

The group announced its arrival back in January with the premiere of “Liar,” showcasing Lifeson and his band mates Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), producer/engineer Alfio Annibalini and singer Maiah Wynne as a cohesive unit:

A video for “Look Inside” was also recently shared ahead of the album’s launch:

Click here to pick up Envy of None on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Envy of None on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Envy of None also detailed a special endeavor to help Ukraine during the current conflict with Russia:

Lifeson was drawn to the Envy of None project, he said in a statement, thanks to the vibrant presence of Maiah Wynne:

“Maiah became my muse. She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like Liar and Look Inside. After hearing her vocals on Never Said I Love You, I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!”4

“One of my favourite things about these songs is the intimacy of them,” added Wynne. “It makes them feel different and more honest. There are some heavier songs too, like Enemy, and then tracks like Kabul Blues, that sound completely different to anything else.”

With Envy of None fully launched into the world, stay tuned for more to see what Lifeson and his exciting new project gets up to in the months ahead!

And catch a special live stream event on Monday, April 10:

The track listing for the Envy of None debut record:

1. Never Said I Love You
2. Shadow
3. Look Inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. Dog`s Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

Full personnel listing for the band and album:

Alf Annibalini – Guitar, Keyboards, Programming
Andy Curran – Bass Guitar, Synthesized Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone
Alex Lifeson- Guitar, Mandola, Banjo, Programming
Maiah Wynne – Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

Stream the album below.

Related Posts