Elvis Costello & The Imposters Share the Rhythmic “Magnificent Hurt,” New Album ‘The Boy Named If’ Out in January

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

As the years roll on, so does Elvis Costello.

Coming Jan. 14, 2022, Costello and the Imposters will return with a new studio album titled The Boy Named If, as officially detailed this week.

The news came with the premiere of “Magnificent Hurt,” a driving track pairing Costello’s signature vocal delivery with a steady bass line, a strong synth lead and unmistakable energy:

Produced by Elvis Costello and Sebastian Krys,  The Boy Named If follows Costello’s recent release of Spanish Model, a reinvention of his 1978 record This Year’s Model.

Of the new record, Costello says, “The full title of this record is ‘The Boy Named If (And Other Children’s Stories).’ ‘IF’ is a nickname for your imaginary friend; your secret self, the one who knows everything you deny, the one you blame for the shattered crockery and the hearts you break, even your own.”

Click here to pre-order The Boy Named If on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Boy Named If on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s the track listing:

1. Farewell, OK
2. The Boy Named If
3. Penelope Halfpenny
4. The Difference
5. What If I Can’t Give You Anything But Love?
6. Paint The Red Rose Blue
7. Mistook Me For A Friend
8. My Most Beautiful Mistake
9. Magnificent Hurt
10. The Man You Love To Hate
11. The Death Of Magic Thinking
12. Trick Out The Truth
13. Mr. Crescent

Related Posts