Elvis Costello: New Album ‘Hey Clockface’ Coming 10/30; Preview with Three Songs

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Oct. 30, Elvis Costello will release a new album titled Hey Clockface, via Concord Records.

Recent weeks have seen the esteemed singer/songwriter share a handful of songs as a preview of the new record, his 31st overall and the follow-up to 2018’s acclaimed Look Now.

(Click here to pre-order Hey Clockface from the Rock Cellar Store).

The latest is “We’re All Cowards Now,” a poignant song premiered last Friday, Aug. 13. Its video description reads:

The motion picture of the song by Eamon Singer & Arlo McFurlow features images of flowers & pistols, smoke & mirrors, tombstones & monuments, courage & cowardice, peace, love & misunderstanding.

And here’s “No Flag,” which was released in early June:

As well as “Hetty O’Hara Confidential”:

The album’s track listing:

1. Revolution #49
2. No Flag
3. They’re Not Laughing At Me Now
4. Newspaper Pane
5. I Do (Zula’s Song)
6. We Are All Cowards Now
7. Hey Clockface / How Can You Face Me?
8. The Whirlwind
9. Hetty O’Hara Confidential
10. The Last Confession Of Vivian Whip
11. What Is It That I Need That I Don’t Already Have?
12. Radio Is Everything
13. I Can’t Say Her Name
14. Byline

More on the Hey Clockface album, via the Elvis Costello website:

Costello tells us, “I sang live on the studio floor, directing from the vocal booth. We cut nine songs in two days. We spoke very little. Almost everything the musicians played was a spontaneous response to the song I was singing. I’d had a dream of recording in Paris like this, one day.”

The ensemble, dubbed, “Le Quintette Saint Germain” by Costello, was recruited for these dates by Steve Nieve (who plays grand piano, upright piano, organ, mellotron & melodica) features Mickaél Gasche on trumpet, flugel horn and serpent, Pierre-François ‘Titi’ Dufour on cello and the drums, percussion and high harmonies of Ajuq.


  • Bradly Wolkis says:

    Those 3 E. C. songs are GREAT!!
    Elvis C. Never Fails To Deliver
    Thanx For Sharing !!

  • Related Posts