New from Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien: Stream’ Olympik,’ from Solo LP ‘Earth’ Out 4/17

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On April 17, Radiohead guitarist Ed O’Brien will release his first solo album, Earth, via Capitol Records, under the project name EOB.

The album is set for release as O’Brien has fully recovered from what he suspected was coronavirus, after suffering “flu-like symptoms” and self-isolating out of caution. A bit after that initial announcement, O’Brien stated on Instagram that he had fully recovered from his ailments:

This week, O’Brien premiered the song “Olympik” from the Earth record — a slick composition featuring these lyrics:

“All our lives played out so
Intersect in the greatest flow
Every sight, every sound
And everything that goes around
kaleidoscope will start to spin
Shaking up all the mess we’re in
Gonna shake it up, all the mess we’re in…”

Stream it below:

This is the third song released in advance of the album, following “Shangri-La”:

And “Brasil”:

More album details, per a press release;

Composed by O’Brien and produced by Flood (with the exception of “Olympik” which is co-produced by Flood and Catherine Marks), Earth features Ed on vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion and programming.  Ed’s songs were brought to life on Earth by a diverse and stellar array of musicians including an appearance by O’Brien’s Radiohead bandmate Colin Greenwood, Portishead guitarist Adrian Utley, Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche, drum legend Omar Hakim, masterful bass player Nathan East, Laura Marling, David Okumu of The Invisible, Adam ‘Cecil‘ Bartlett, Richie Kennedy, Marcelo S. Silva, Flood and Catherine Marks.

Related Posts