Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien: Debut Solo LP ‘Earth’ Out 4/17, Stream ‘Shangri-La’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In late 2019, Radiohead guitarist Ed O’Brien announced plans to release his first-ever solo album, and Earth (released under his initials, EOB) will be out on April 17 via Capitol Records.

The full album details were revealed on Thursday, as well as the album’s official first single, “Shangri-La”:

It’s actually the second song released from the record thus far, as a nine-minute short film/video for “Brasil” premiered with the original album news in the winter.

Some details about the album, via a news release:

Composed by O’Brien and produced by Flood (with the exception of “Olympik” which is co-produced by Flood and Catherine Marks), Earth features Ed on vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion and programming.  Ed’s songs were brought to life on Earth by a diverse and stellar array of musicians including an appearance by O’Brien’s Radiohead bandmate Colin Greenwood, Portishead guitarist Adrian Utley, Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche, drum legend Omar Hakim, masterful bass player Nathan East, Laura Marling, David Okumu of The Invisible, Adam ‘Cecil‘ Bartlett, Richie Kennedy, Marcelo S. Silva, Flood and Catherine Marks.

Ed O'Brien of Radiohead (Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel)

Ed O’Brien of Radiohead (Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel)

And its track listing:

1. “Shangri-La”
2. “Brasil”
3. “Deep Days”
4. “Long Time Coming”
5. “Mass”
6. “Banksters”
7. “Sail On”
8. “Olympik”
9. “Cloak of the Night”

Catch Ed O’Brien on a short solo tour later this month:

02/07/20 — Toronto, ON — Great Hall
02/08/20 — Chicago, IL — Lincoln Hall
02/10/20 — New York, NY — Le Poisson Rouge
02/13/20 — Los Angeles, CA — Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever
03/07/20 — London, UK — BBC Festival 6
06/13/20 — Manchester, TN – Bonnaroo Music Festival
07/24/20 — Luzern, CH — Blue Balls Festival
07/31/20 — Newport, RI — Newport Folk Festival

Related Posts