Dream Theater Debuts “Invisible Monster,” New LP ‘A View from the Top of the World’ Out 10/22

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Prog/metal titans Dream Theater are preparing to release a new album, A View from the Top of the World, on Oct. 22. The band has been previewing it in recent weeks with a couple of absolutely epic tracks, and the latest is no exception.

Titled “Invisible Monster,” it spans six and a half minutes of charging, cascading guitars, propulsive drums and vocals from James LaBrie. Its music video blends performance footage with stark visuals depicting the inner turmoil of an artist, and can be seen below:

Some contest for “Invisible Monster,” from guitarist John Petrucci:

“It was written after we’d written a bunch of material. A lot of the music was super energetic and upbeat tempo-wise. Mike suggested we do something a little different though. So, we started working on a more mid-temp song. The hook, riff, and melody changed so naturally. I equate it to ‘Pull Me Under’ back in the day where we’d just start playing, something would come out, and we’d be like, ‘Whoa, that’s cool’. There’s a serendipitous moment where it happens. Lyrically, it’s about how anxiety plagues people. It’s like there’s an invisible monster beating you. You don’t see it, but it’s haunting you all of the time.”

Click here to pre-order A View From the Top of the World on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order A View From the Top of the World on 2-LP+CD from our Rock Cellar Store

The track follows “The Alien,” which was shared previously:

A View from the Top of the World will be the 15th full-length from Dream Theater to date. As you might expect, part of its inspiration came about during the COVID-19 pandemic. Per a news release:

Dream Theater – comprised of James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, John Myung and Mike Mangini – was in the middle of a sold-out world tour in support of their last release Distance Over Time and the 20th anniversary of Scenes From A Memory when a Global Pandemic brought the world to a stop. The musicians found themselves at home with LaBrie in Canada and the rest of the group in the States. As fate would have it, they’d just finished construction on DTHQ (Dream Theater Headquarters) —a combination live recording studio, rehearsal space, control room, equipment storage, and creative hive. With LaBrie in Canada, he initially wrote with the band via ZOOM on a monitor in DTHQ. In March 2021, he flew down to New York, quarantined, and recorded his vocals face-to-face with Petrucci. The album ultimately threaded together lean and uncompromising hooks with tried-and-true technical proficiency.

“We approach every album like it’s our first,” adds LaBrie. “It’s been such a great ride, but we’re not going to stop.”

The 7-song album’s track listing, which looks rather epic:

1) The Alien (9:32)
2) Answering The Call (7:35)
3) Invisible Monster (6:31)
4) Sleeping Giant (10:05)
5) Transcending Time (6:25)
6) Awaken The Master (9:47)
7) A View From The Top Of The World (20:24)

A tour in support of the new album is set to start on Oct. 28 in Arizona and carry Dream Theater into mid-December. Visit the band’s official site for more details.

Related Posts