Preview a New ‘Holy Diver’ Reissue Commemorating Ronnie James Dio’s 80th Birthday (Out 7/8)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Just in time for the late heavy metal icon‘s 80th birthday on July 10, Rhino Records will toast Ronnie James Dio with an expanded reissue of Dio’s 1983 debut album, Holy Diver.

Scheduled for release on July 8, the album will be revisited as a 4-CD collection, featuring a new analog mix from Joe Barresi, as well as a remastered version of the original album and unreleased live performances and outtakes, along with a selection of rarities from the era. There will also be a clear vinyl edition (pre-orders should be up in our Rock Cellar Store soon).

It was previewed with Barresi’s mix of “Holy Diver,” the song that kickstarted it all:

A bit of context about Holy Diver and its legacy as one of the most important hard rock/metal albums ever:

Critically acclaimed and commercial success, Holy Diver contributed two timeless classics to the heavy metal canon – “Rainbow In The Dark” and its title track. The album also ranks #16 on Rolling Stone’s current list of “100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time.”

After departing Black Sabbath in early 1982, Dio began composing songs that would eventually appear on the album. After writing both “Holy Diver” and “Don’t Talk To Strangers,” Dio then assembled an amazing group of musicians, two familiar faces and one fresh recruit, with drummer Vinny Appice (Dio’s Black Sabbath bandmate), bassist/keyboardist Jimmy Bain (Dio’s Rainbow bandmate) and guitarist Vivian Campbell joining him to record the Holy Diver album.

The track listing for the Holy Diver 4-CD set:

CD1: Holy Diver (2022 Joe Barresi Mix) *
CD2: Holy Diver (2022 Remaster)
1. “Stand Up And Shout”
2. “Holy Diver”
3. “Gypsy”
4. “Caught In The Middle”
5. “Don’t Talk To Strangers”
6. “Straight Through The Heart”
7. “Invisible”
8. “Rainbow In The Dark”
9. “Shame On The Night”

CD3: Live at Selland Arena, Fresno, CA, 1983
1. Intro *
2. “Stand Up And Shout” *
3. “Straight Through The Heart” *
4. “Shame On The Night” *
5. “Children Of The Sea” *
6. “Holy Diver” *
7. “Heaven And Hell” – including guitar solo *
8. “Rainbow In The Dark” *
9. “Man On The Silver Mountain” *
10. “Starstuck” *
11. “Man On The Silver Mountain” – reprise *
12. “Don’t Talk To Strangers” *

CD4: Outtakes, Singles & B-Sides
Tracks 1-7 unreleased
1. “Evil Eyes” – Wyn Davis remix *
2. “Don’t Talk To Strangers” – Take 1 (Joe Barresi mix) *
3. “Invisible” – Take 1 (Joe Barresi mix) *
4. “Invisible” – Take 3 (Joe Barresi mix) *
5. “Rainbow In The Dark” – Alternative Guitar Solo Version (Joe Barresi mix) *
6. “Straight Through The Heart” – Take 2 (Joe Barresi mix) *
7. “Straight Through The Heart” – Take 3 (Joe Barresi mix)*
8. “Rainbow In The Dark” – 7” Mono Edit
9. “Evil Eyes” – 1983 Version. B-Side of “Holy Diver”
10. “Rainbow In The Dark” – 7” Stereo Edit

* previously unreleased

Related Posts