New from Dinosaur Jr.: Stream “Take It Back,” New LP ‘Sweep It Into Space’ Out 4/23


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This Friday, April 23, Dinosaur Jr. will return with a new album, Sweep It Into Space, released via Jagjaguwar. It’ll be the influential alt/indie band’s 12th studio album and the first since 2016’s Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not.

As one last preview of the new record, the band debuted a track called “Take It Back” on Wednesday. Watch its music video:

The video’s director, Callum Scott-Dyson, explained in a statement that he “really wanted to use the creature on the front of the album sleeve for Sweep It Into Space as an inspiration and springboard for its own little adventure, exploring some simple notions of creation, dependence, coming of age and searching for another like yourself. I wanted to mix those themes with my style of stop motion animation, everything being very DIY and handmade, using any materials I could get my hands on to bring the idea to life and give it a surreal and otherworldly feel. I’ve always been a really big fan of Dinosaur Jr, so I was working extra hard to do something that could add to such an awesome track and sit alongside it.”

“Take It Back” joins a pair of fellow pre-release singles from the album. Here’s “Garden”:

And here’s “I Ran Away,” which was co-produced by Kurt Vile and features Vile on lead 12-string guitar:

The recording process with Vile became interrupted by the pandemic, at which point band leader J. Mascis took over. Per a press release:

J Mascis “ended up just mimicking a few things he’d done. I was listening to a lot of  Thin Lizzy, so I was trying to get some of that dueling twin lead sound. But the recording session was pretty well finished by the time things really hit the fan. When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own. But it was cool.”

Click here to pre-order Sweep It Into Space on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Sweep It Into Space on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

To commemorate the release of  the album, Dinosaur Jr. will play a livestream performance from the Sinclair in Boston, MA on May 1st at 9pm EST. Tickets are available via NoCap, with upgrade options for exclusive merchandise and VIP Soundcheck Experience available as well.

A cleverly worded press release notes that Dinosaur Jr. originally intended to release this album last year, before the COVID-19 pandemic shifted those plans: Originally scheduled for mid-2020, this record’s temporal trajectory was thwarted by the coming of the Plague.

Here’s the track listing for Sweep It Into Space:

1. I Ain’t
2. I Met The Stones
3. To Be Waiting
4. I Ran Away
5. Garden
6. Hide Another Round
7. And Me
8. I Expect It Always
9. Take It Back
10. N Say
11. Walking To You
12. You Wonder

Catch Dinosaur Jr. on the road — either in the coming weeks socially-distant style or in the fall, with less restrictions on live music hopefully in place:

Sat. May 22 – Swanzey, NH @ Cheshire Fairgrounds – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Sun. May 23 – New Haven @ CT Westville Music Bowl  – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Tue. July 27 – Fri. July 30 – Big Indian, NY @ Camp Fuzz
Tue. Sept. 7 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre
Thu. Sept. 9 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Fri. Sept. 10 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Venue TBA
Sat. Sept. 11 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Mon. Sept. 13 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
Tue. Sept. 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Sept. 16 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Mon. Sept. 20 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Tue. Sept. 21 – Kansas City, MO @ Truman
Thu. Sept. 23 – Austin, TX @ Moody Theater @ ACL Live
Fri. Sept. 24 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 25 – Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Mon. Sept. 27 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Tue. Sept. 28 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bluebird
Thu. Sept. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Athenaeum Theatre
Fri. Oct. 1 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora
Sat. Oct. 2 – Ithaca, NY @ State Theatre
Fri. Nov. 12 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Nov. 13 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Mon. Nov. 15 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Tue. Nov. 16 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Nov. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Fri. Nov. 19 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Nov. 26 – Northampton, MA @ Academy of Music
Sat. Nov. 27 – Boston, MA @ House Of Blues
Thu. Feb. 3 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy’s and Harriets
Fri. Feb. 4 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Feb. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
Mon. Feb. 7 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory Music Hall
Tue. Feb. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Thu. Feb. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox at Market
Fri. Feb. 11 – Portland, OR @ Venue TBA
Sat. Feb. 12 – Portland, OR @ Venue TBA
Tue. Feb. 15 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Wed. Feb. 16 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Thu. Feb. 17 –  San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Sat. Feb. 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sun. Feb. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Tue. Feb. 22 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park
Wed. Feb. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Feb. 25 – Albuquerque, NM @ El Rey Theatre
Sat. Feb. 26 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre



Related Posts