Watch Deep Purple’s New Video for Anthemic New Single ‘Throw My Bones,’ a ‘Call to Observe the Planet and Take Action’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Deep Purple roared back on Friday by premiering a new song, “Throw My Bones,” the first preview of the band’s 21st studio album, Whoosh!, which is set for release on June 12.

The track, which comes with an accompanying music video featuring the earthbound adventures of some sort of outer space explorer, can be seen & heard below:

A statement from Deep Purple vocalist, Ian Gillan:

“Whoosh is an onomatopoeic word that, when viewed through one end of a radio-telescope, describes the transient nature of humanity on Earth; and, through the other end from a closer perspective, illustrates the career of Deep Purple.”

Whoosh! was announced in late February and will be the classic rock band‘s 21st studio record overall, and third produced by Bob Ezrin.

“Whoosh!” follows their worldwide chart-topping albums “inFinite” (2017) and “NOW What?!” (2013). After the suspense and speculations among the fan community created by cryptic messages and interviews by singer Ian Gillan during last December, the band finally confirms the release of their 21st studio album on June 12th, 2020 on earMUSIC. For the third time, Deep Purple join forces with producer Bob Ezrin, who invited the band to Nashville to write and record new songs. Together they created the most versatile album in their collaboration. Deep Purple “stretched out in all directions” without any limitation, letting their creativity go. “Deep Purple is putting the Deep back into Purple” was the half-joking motto in the studio after the first songs made it clear that Ezrin and Purple were on their path to creating an album pushing the boundaries of time, while voicing their resentment about the current situation of the world and addressing all generations.

And the album’s track listing:

1. “Throw My Bones”
2. “Drop The Weapon”
3. “We’re All The Same In The Dark”
4. “Nothing At All”
5. “No Need To Shout”
6. “Step By Step”
7. “What The What”
8. “The Long Way Round”
9. “The Power Of The Moon”
10. “Remission Possible”
11. “Man Alive”
12. “And The Address”
13. “Dancing In My Sleep”


Related Posts