Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider: New Album ‘Leave a Scar’ 7/30, Share Loud New Video for “I Gotta Rock (Again)”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On July 30, esteemed hard-rock icon Dee Snider will release his fifth solo album, Leave a Scar, via Napalm Records.

Officially announced on Thursday, the news came with the premiere of a roaring new track, “I Gotta Rock (Again),” in which Snider declares confidently that he’s “Gonna ride until I’m gone/For as long as I’m breathing/Won’t stop ’til I drop,” a powerhouse anthem exemplifying the resilience he’s shown over the years.

There’s also a man chained to a chair watching Snider on a small TV set, who over the course of the video gets more and more agitated until he breaks through the chains and smashes the screen with a sledgehammer — the symbolism is strong with this one:

Said Dee Snider of “I Gotta Rock (Again)” in a statement:

“‘I Gotta Rock (Again)’ is the starting gun for this album and the driving motivation behind me returning to the studio to record Leave a Scar. At the end of 2019, I had felt my recording and live performing was over, but I didn’t announce it to the world. I mentally had decided I was done. But the state of things in 2020 had other plans for me. Between Covid and the political state around the globe, I found myself yearning (yes, I yearn) to get back in the studio. In the immortal words of Ice Cube, “I got somethin’ to say!”

Leave a Scar is the follow-up to Snider’s 2018 album For the Love of Metal, and like that album the new one was produced by Hatebreed’s Jamey Jasta with co-production, mixing and mastering by drummer Nick Bellmore.

Snider on how the album’s inspiration came about:

“By the end of 2020, I knew I not only had to get back into the studio, but for the first time since the ’90s, I wanted – no, needed – to be a part of the writing process. I reached out to my producer Jamey Jasta and told him I was ready to make another record. Leave a Scar is filled with messages to and for the silent voices in the world who need someone to speak out on their behalf. This is my purpose.”

The track listing:

1) I Gotta Rock (Again)
2) All Or Nothing More
3) Down But Never Out
4) Before I Go
5) Open Season
6) Silent Battles
7) Crying For Your Life
8) In For The Kill
9) Time To Choose
10) S.H.E.
11) The Reckoning
12) Stand

Related Posts