Out Now: David Bowie ‘The Width of a Circle,’ Companion Piece to ‘The Man Who Sold the World’ 50th Anniversary Set

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Back in November 2020, the David Bowie vaults were opened once again with the release of Metrobolist, a 50th anniversary edition of The Man Who Sold the World, repackaged under the album’s original intended title.

Today, May 28, it’s been revisited again — and The Width of a Circle is a companion piece, of sorts, complementing the 50th anniversary set with a wealth of additional material from Bowie. Featuring 21 previously unreleased tracks in total, the set is available today as a 2-CD package via Parlophone.

Click here to pick up David Bowie The Width of a Circle on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store

Per a news release:

Taking its name from the album’s opening track, which was named after a painting by Bowie’s friend George Underwood, the new two-CD set THE WIDTH OF A CIRCLE acts as a complementary piece to that album. Its 21 tracks feature non-album singles, a BBC In Concert l session, music for a TV play and further Visconti remixes wrapping up Bowie’s recordings from 1970 and revealing the first sonic steps toward Hunky Dory. 

And a full track listing breakdown:

CD 1:
Recorded on February 5, 1970 and broadcast on February 8, 1970
1. “Amsterdam” *
2. “God Knows I’m Good” *
3. “Buzz The Fuzz”
4. “Karma Man”
5. “London Bye, Ta-Ta”
6. “An Occasional Dream”
7. “The Width Of A Circle” *
8. “Janine
9. “Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud”
10. “Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed” *
11. “Fill Your Heart”
12. “The Prettiest Star”
13. “Cygnet Committee” *
14. “Memory Of A Free Festival” *
Performed by David Bowie and The Tony Visconti Trio (a.k.a. The Hype)
CD 2:
1. “When I Live My Dream”
2. “Columbine”
3. “The Mirror”
4. “Threepenny Pierrot”
5. “When I Live My Dream” (Reprise)
1. “The Prettiest Star” (Alternative Mix)
Single mix released on March 6, 1970 on Mercury Records MF 1135. This is the unreleased alternative mix created for promotion in the US market.
2. “London Bye, Ta-Ta” *
Originally recorded and rejected as the follow up single to “Space Oddity”. This mono mix was finally released on the Sound & Vision box set in 1989.
3. “London Bye, Ta-Ta” (1970 Stereo Mix)*
This stereo mix of the above remained unreleased until the reformatted reissue of the Sound & Vision box set in 2003, replacing the mono mix.
4. “Memory Of A Free Festival” (Single Version Part 1)*
5. “Memory Of A Free Festival” (Single Version Part 2)*
The re-recorded electric version of the closing track from the David Bowie (aka Space Oddity) album released as a single on Mercury Records 6052 026 on June 26, 1970.
6. “Holy Holy” *
This non-album single A side, backed by the album version of “Black Country Rock” from The Man Who Sold The World album, was released on Mercury Records 6052 049 on January 15, 1971.
Recorded on March 25, 1970 and broadcast on the April 6, 1970
1. “Waiting For The Man”
2. “The Width Of A Circle”
3. “The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud” *
4. “The Supermen (Bowie At The Beeb vinyl only)” *
Performed by David Bowie and The Hype
2020 MIXES
1. “The Prettiest Star” (2020 Mix)
2. “London Bye, Ta-Ta” (2020 Mix)
3. “Memory Of A Free Festival” (Single Version – 2020 Mix)
4. “All The Madmen” (Single Edit 2020 Mix)
5. “Holy Holy” (2020 Mix)
(*denotes previously released)
THE WIDTH OF A CIRCLE 10” SINGLE & 96/24 digital E.P.
Available only from the official David Bowie store.
Side 1
1. “The Prettiest Star” (2020 Mix)
2. “London Bye, Ta-Ta” (2020 Mix)
Side 2
1. “Memory Of A Free Festival” (2020 Mix)
2. “Holy Holy” (2020 Mix)

Related Posts