Daryl Hall: First-Ever Solo Retrospective ‘BeforeAfter,’ Tour with Todd Rundgren Coming in April

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This spring, Daryl Hall will step out on his own for a special solo retrospective titled BeforeAfter. The release collects 30 recordings spanning each of his five solo records outside his work with John Oates, as well as six previously unreleased recordings from the Live From Daryl’s House vaults.

In addition to the album news, Hall announced a special solo tour that will launch the same day BeforeAfter hits streaming services, April 1. Accompanying Hall on the road for this run will be Todd Rundgren, making each night of the tour a can’t-miss combination of Rock & Roll Hall of Fame talent.

Some more details regarding BeforeAfter, per a news release:

Compiled and sequenced by Hall, BeforeAfter features thirty tracks spanning all five of his solo albums, from the 1980’s Robert Fripp-produced Sacred Songs through 2011’s Laughing Down Crying, which was co-produced with longtime Hall compatriot T-Bone Wolk, who sadly passed before the album was released. Additionally, the collection features six never-released performances from the pathbreaking web and television series Live From Daryl’s House, which Hall launched in 2007 with the then-novel idea of “playing with my friends and putting it up on the internet.” Special guests on the Live From Daryl’s House tracks include Rundgren, Dave Stewart, and Monte Montgomery. Taken as a whole, BeforeAfter draws unexpected and satisfying connections between the esoteric and accessible sides of Daryl Hall’s creativity.

“I picked this collection of songs from my solo albums because I feel they encapsulate certain periods of my career.” says Hall. “It also shows the diversity of working with collaborators like Robert Fripp or Dave Stewart. And, having some tracks from LFDH on it, really makes the compilation complete.”

Click here to pre-order BeforeAfter on CD from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing:


1. Dreamtime
2. Babs and Babs
3. Foolish Pride
4. Can’t Stop Dreaming
5. Here Comes the Rain Again (Live From Daryl’s House) – with Dave Stewart
6. Someone Like You
7. Talking to You (Is Like Talking to Myself)
8. Sacred Songs
9. Right as Rain
10. Survive
11. North Star (Live From Daryl’s House) – with Monte Montgomery
12. In My Own Dream (Live From Daryl’s House)
14. What’s Gonna Happen to Us


1. Love Revelation
2. Fools Rush In
3. I’m in a Philly Mood
4. Send Me
5. Justify
6. Borderline
7. Stop Loving Me, Stop Loving You
8. Eyes for You (Ain’t No Doubt About It)
9. The Farther Away I Am
10. Why Was It So Easy
11. Can We Still Be Friends (Live From Daryl’s House) – with Todd Rundgren
12. Cab Driver
13. Our Day Will Come (Live From Daryl’s House)
14. Laughing Down Crying (Live From Daryl’s House)
15. Problem with You (Live From Daryl’s House)
16. Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye) (Live From Daryl’s House)

As for the tour dates, they’ll span the first few weeks of April along most of the East Coast. The schedule:

April 1 – Auditorium Theatre – Chicago, IL ^
April 3 – Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN ^
April 5 – Atlanta Symphony Hall – Atlanta, GA ^
April 7 – MGM Northfield Park – Northfield, OH ^
April 9 – The Met Philadelphia – Philadelphia, PA ^
April 11 – Orpheum Theatre – Boston, MA ^
April 14 – Carnegie Hall – New York, NY ^
April 16 – The Theatre at MGM National Harbor – National Harbor, MD ^

^ w/ Todd Rundgren

Related Posts