Danny Elfman + Iggy Pop Join Forces for “Kick Me”; Elfman Revisiting ‘Big Mess’ LP as ‘Bigger. Messier.’ 8/12

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In June 2021, Danny Elfman added to his legacy of unpredictable and provocative musical achievement with Big Mess, an experimental album of grandiose and frequently unsettling compositions.

The album hit the bullseye in terms of Elfman’s attempts to channel the confusion and uncertainty of human existence into musical form as only he could. On Aug. 12, the legendary composer/musician will revisit that album’s weirdness for Bigger. Messier., a collection of remixed and reimagined versions of the original songs.

The new set features guest spots from Trent Reznor, HEALTH, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Zach Hill of Death Grips, Xiu Xiu, Squarepusher, Ghostemane and Iggy Pop, who appears on a new version of “Kick Me,” which arrived alongside the album announcement:

A statement, via Elfman:

“At the onset of the Bigger. Messier. I asked the same thing of every artist: “express me through your own eyes.” Not only was I surprised at the artists that wanted to participate, but completely blown away by what everyone contributed. There’s a tremendous amount of diversity represented throughout, and I couldn’t be more excited to announce the record with Iggy’s version of “Kick Me,” which not only serves as a reinvention of the song vocally, but instrumentally as well. This record became such an enjoyment of experimentation and relinquishing control of my own work in a way that I’ve never done before.”

A news release details the process behind the remixes as being rather free-form:

Using his original songs as their canvases, each artist was given free reign to experiment in their own distinct voice, making for a wholly unique collection of songs that span decades and genres. The album was executive produced by Stu Brooks and Elfman’s longtime manager Laura Engel.

Click here to pre-order Bigger. Messier. on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Bigger. Messier. on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

And the track listing for Bigger. Messier.:

We Belong (Squarepusher Remix) – 7:13
Happy (33EMYBW Remix) – 3:00
Sorry (Kid606 Remix) – 6:09
We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix) – 3:38
Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix) – 3:03
Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix) – 4:29
Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix) – 5:15
Cruel Compensation (The Locust Remix) – 2:21
Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix) – 5:38
True (feat. Trent Reznor) – 5:18
In Time (feat. Blixa Bargeld) – 4:41
In Time (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix) – 3:10
Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor) – 4:29
Kick Me (feat. Iggy Pop) – 3:37
Kick Me (feat. Fever333) – 2:05
In Time (HEALTH Remix) – 4:58
Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor – Ghostemane Natural Selection Remix) – 3:33
Happy (Boy Harsher Remix) – 4:48
True (feat. Trent Reznor – Stu Brooks Remix) – 5:59
Serious Dub (Scientist Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) – 5:00
Happy (A. Fruit Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) – 3:17

Related Posts