Out Now: Danny Elfman Revisits 2021’s ‘Big Mess’ as Sprawling Remix Project ‘Bigger. Messier.’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In June 2021, Danny Elfman added to his legacy of unpredictable and provocative musical achievement with Big Mess, an experimental album of grandiose and frequently unsettling compositions.

Today, Aug. 12, the musician/composer/esteemed creator revisited the album as Bigger. Messier., a new collection of remixed and reimagined versions of the original songs utilizing the help of special guests such as Trent Reznor, HEALTH, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Zach Hill of Death Grips, Xiu Xiu, Squarepusher, Ghostemane and Iggy Pop.

Accompanying the album release is a trippy, AI-generated video for “In Time,” featuring Blixa Bargeld:

A statement, via Elfman:

“At the onset of the Bigger. Messier. I asked the same thing of every artist: “express me through your own eyes.” Not only was I surprised at the artists that wanted to participate, but completely blown away by what everyone contributed. There’s a tremendous amount of diversity represented throughout, and I couldn’t be more excited to announce the record with Iggy’s version of “Kick Me,” which not only serves as a reinvention of the song vocally, but instrumentally as well. This record became such an enjoyment of experimentation and relinquishing control of my own work in a way that I’ve never done before.”

Click here to pick up Bigger. Messier. on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Bigger. Messier. on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

At the core of Bigger. Messier. is the free-form nature of the project:

“This record was all about the joy of experimentation. I really wanted to enjoy the experience of completely relinquishing control of my work, which is something that I’d never done before,” added Elfman. “The only input I gave any of the artists was to be themselves and have no concerns about putting their own unique spins on the music, as every artist on this project were ones I already respected and whose music I enjoyed. Not only was I surprised at everyone who wanted to participate, but simply blown away by what they all contributed. There’s a tremendous amount of diversity represented throughout.”

The track listing:

We Belong (Squarepusher Remix) – 7:13
Happy (33EMYBW Remix) – 3:00
Sorry (Kid606 Remix) – 6:09
We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix) – 3:38
Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix) – 3:03
Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix) – 4:29
Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix) – 5:15
Cruel Compensation (The Locust Remix) – 2:21
Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix) – 5:38
True (feat. Trent Reznor) – 5:18
In Time (feat. Blixa Bargeld) – 4:41
In Time (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix) – 3:10
Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor) – 4:29
Kick Me (feat. Iggy Pop) – 3:37
Kick Me (feat. Fever333) – 2:05
In Time (HEALTH Remix) – 4:58
Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor – Ghostemane Natural Selection Remix) – 3:33
Happy (Boy Harsher Remix) – 4:48
True (feat. Trent Reznor – Stu Brooks Remix) – 5:59
Serious Dub (Scientist Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) – 5:00
Happy (A. Fruit Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) – 3:17

Dive in below.

Related Posts