Coheed and Cambria Shares “The Liars Club,” New LP Out 5/27; Summer Tour with Dance Gavin Dance/Mothica

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Visionary prog-rock/experimental band Coheed and Cambria has a jam-packed few months coming up, including a new album and a big headlining tour.

Earlier this week, the group debuted a new song titled “The Liars Club,” paired with a customarily intriguing animated video:

“When the truth is such a mess, who doesn’t want to live out a different reality? Who doesn’t want to embrace a lie?” said guitarist/vocalist Claudio Sanchez of the song, the third shared thus far from Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind.

The new album follows 2018’s Vaxis – Act I: The Unheavenly Creatures, which was a continuation of the group’s ongoing Armory Wars concept (spearheaded by Sanchez as a series of science fiction comic books, novels and a main focus of the band’s music over the years).

Here’s “Rise, Naianasha (Cut The Cord),” which premiered in early November with an animated science fiction video (also very in-line with Coheed’s general aesthetic over the years):

“Shoulders” also debuted in 2021 and jumped to a Top 10 spot at Active Rock Radio, qualifying as the band’s highest radio chart position to date since its emergence in 2002:

The track listing:

1. The Embers of Fire
2. Beautiful Losers
3. Comatose
4. Shoulders
5. A Disappearing Act
6. Love Murder One
7. Blood
8. The Liars Club
9. Bad Man
10. Our Love
11. Ladders of Supremacy
12. Rise, Naianasha (Cut the Cord)
13. Window of the Waking Mind

More, per a news release:

“Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind welcomes us back to “The Amory Wars” as the 2nd installment of the five-part “Vaxis” arc about a couple on the run from tyrannical forces and their mysterious new addition.”

In addition to all of this Coheed and Cambria announced a summer tour with Dance Gavin Dance and Mothica, with full dates and details up at the band’s website.

Related Posts