Out Now: Christine McVie Celebrates Her Work Outside Fleetwood Mac with ‘Songbird: A Solo Collection’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On June 24, Christine McVie released Songbird: A Solo Collection — a compilation of recordings commemorating her solo catalog outside Fleetwood Mac.

The collection was first previewed with a track called “Slowdown,” one of two previously unreleased solo recordings. This one was originally written for the 1985 film American Flyers:

Said McVie of the song: “I was asked to write a song for a film about a cycling competition. So, I thought we’d give it a go. So that’s why the lyrics are sort of muddled up with a little bit of a love song, a little bit of cycling. And it turned out really well, but they didn’t end up using it. We thought it was a pity to waste it, so it’s on here.”

There’s also an orchestral version of the Fleetwood Mac classic, “Songbird”:

Click here to pick up Songbird on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Songbird on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Slowdown” is one of two unreleased songs featured on the collection; the other is “All You Gotta Do,” which a news release notes is “a duet that McVie recorded with George Hawkins while making In The Meantime. The track was never finished, and Johns added Ricky Peterson on Hammond and Ethan Johns on drums and guitar.”

Other tracks on the collection include songs from McVie’s two solo albums, 1984’s Christine McVie and 2004’s In The Meantime, and the whole project was remastered by Glyn Johns.

The track listing:

1. “Friend”
2. “Sweet Revenge”
3. “The Challenge”
4. “Northern Star”
5. “Ask Anybody”
6. “Slowdown” *
7. “Easy Come, Easy Go”
8. “Giving It Back”
9. “All You Gotta Do” *
10. “Songbird” – Orchestral Version *

* Previously Unreleased

Give the Songbird collection a listen below:

Related Posts