Christian Lee Hutson Shares “Rubberneckers,” ‘Quitters’ LP 4/1 (Produced by Phoebe Bridgers/Conor Oberst)

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Christian Lee Hutson will release a new album titled Quitters on April 1 — and on Wednesday, the Los Angeles-based singer/songwriter debuted a compelling music video for a track called “Rubberneckers.”

First, a bit of back story regarding Hutson. He can be considered part of the Phoebe Bridgers Expanded Songwriting Universe; after the two met in 2018, he lent his services to the 2018 boygenius EP Bridgers released with Lucy Dacus and Julien Baker as well as her Better Oblivion Community Center project with Conor Oberst and her 2020 album Punisher.

Bridgers produced Hutson’s album Beginners, which was released in May 2020, and she is also a co-producer on Quitters, with Oberst in tow once again as well.

The visual aesthetic of the video for “Rubberneckers” (which features Bridgers on backing vocals) stands out the most from the clip, accompanied by Hutson’s deadpan physical humor style. The clip serves as an example of the discomfort that can be felt when we feel overexposed or too vulnerable, with the camera chasing Hutson through a performance space standing in for the claustrophobic feeling that social media (and our collective obsessions with it) provides all too often:

“I made the “Rubberneckers” video with my friends Zoe and Adam, who I worked with on the “Lose This Number” video,” said Hutson in a statement. “The last time I danced was at the 8th grade social and it was mainly just swaying to “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing” but I wanted to showcase what a natural, gifted dancer I am.”

Another song featured on Quitters is “Strawberry Lemonade,” which received its own video back in early November:

Click here to pre-order Quitters on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Quitters on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The album track listing:

1. Strawberry Lemonade
2. Endangered Birds
3. Rubberneckers
4. Sitting Up With A Sick Friend
5. Age Difference
6. Blank Check
7. Cherry
8. State Bird
9. Teddy’s Song
10. Black Cat
11. Creature Feature
12. OCDemon
13. Triple Axel

Related Posts