New Chicago: Legendary Band Reflects with “If This Is Goodbye,” Ahead of Co-Headline Tour with Brian Wilson


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This summer’s co-headlining tour combining the talents of Chicago and Beach Boys band leader Brian Wilson (alongside Al Jardine and Blondie Chaplin) is due to be a great time, entertaining showcase of both artists’ impeccable Rock and Roll Hall of Fame careers.

Striking that celebratory tone is “If This Is Goodbye,” a new single debuted by Chicago on Friday that marks the band’s first new music in eight years.

Click here to pick up music from Chicago from our Rock Cellar Store

With lyrical references to the path that’s taken the group along its musical journey, it also packs a bit of finality, as well (“If this is goodbye/Let’s sing one more song for the memories/Life’s too short to be enemies”):

At this point in its existence, Chicago features the original three band members Robert Lamm on keyboards and vocals, Lee Loughnane on trumpet and vocals and James Pankow on trombone, backed by Ray Herrmann on sax and flute, Wally Reyes, Jr. on drums, Neil Donell on vocals, Ramon “Ray” Yslas on percussion, Tony Obrohta on guitar, Loren Gold on keyboards and vocals, and Eric Baines on bass and vocals.

Catch a show on the tour:

Tue Jun 07 – Phoenix, AZ – Ak-Chin Pavilion
Thu Jun 09 – Los Angeles, CA – The Forum
Fri Jun 10 – Irvine, CA – FivePoint Amphitheatre
Sat Jun 11 – Concord, CA – Concord Pavilion
Tue Jun 14 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre
Thu Jun 16 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Sat Jun 18 – Maryland Heights, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Mon Jun 20 – Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theater
Tue Jun 21 – Rogers, AR – Walmart AMP
Fri Jun 24 – Dallas, TX – Dos Equis Pavilion
Sat Jun 25 – The Woodlands, TX – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion presented by Huntsman
Tue Jun 28 – Tampa, FL – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Wed Jun 29 – Alpharetta, GA – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre
Fri Jul 01 – Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion
Sun Jul 10 – Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center
Mon Jul 11 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
Wed Jul 13 – Camden, NJ – BB&T Pavilion
Thu Jul 14 – Bethel, NY – Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Fri Jul 15 – Wantagh, NY – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Sun Jul 17 – Saratoga Springs, NY – Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Wed Jul 20 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Fri Jul 22 – Burgettstown, PA – The Pavilion at Star Lake
Sat Jul 23 – Cincinnati, OH – Riverbend Music Center
Sun Jul 24 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Tue Jul 26 – Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theatre

Wilson recently released At My Piano, an instrumental album of his songs with the Beach Boys, his solo material and beyond. He’s also the focus of a new documentary film, Long Promised Road — click here to read our interview with director Brent Wilson (no relation).



Related Posts