Bright Eyes Premieres ‘Mariana Trench,’ Details New Album, Performs on ‘Colbert’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Conor Oberst and Bright Eyes will release a new album, Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was, on August 21 via Dead Oceans. The esteemed indie/rock band announced the album officially on Monday.

The LP will be the tenth full-length in Bright Eyes’ history, and the first since 2011’s The People’s Key. Along with the album news came the premiere of a new single titled “Mariana Trench”:

Bright Eyes performed the song on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on Monday night, marking the band’s first performance together in nine years:

Recent weeks have seen a handful of song premieres from Bright Eyes, the first bit of activity from the group in a few years.

Per a press release, there’s a significance to the album’s title, Down in The Weeds Where the World Once Was:

As a title, as a thesis, Down In The Weeds Where the World Once Was functions on a global, apocalyptic level of anxiety that looms throughout the record. But on a personal level, it speaks to rooting around in the dirt of one’s memories, trying to find the preciousness that’s overgrown and unrecognizable. For Conor Oberst, coming back to Bright Eyes was a bit of that. A symbol of simpler times, vaguely nostalgic. And even though it wasn’t actually possible to go back to the way things were, even though there wasn’t an easy happy ending, there was a new reality left to work with.

Previously-premiered songs include “One and Done,” “Forced Convalescence” and “Persona Non Grata,” two of which feature Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers on bass.

Bright Eyes’ hiatus ended in 2017, the press release details, when Oberst and Nathaniel Walcott called Mike Mogis … and once that conversation was settled, work began on the new album.

In the time since that reformation and the new album’s impending release, members of Bright Eyes kept busy — Oberst formed a project with Phoebe Bridgers (releasing an album as Better Oblivion Community Center in 2019) and being heavily involved in Bridgers’ stunning new album, Punisher.

Here’s the record’s track listing:

1.) Pageturner’s Rag
2.) Dance And Sing
3.) Just Once In The World
4.) Mariana Trench
5.) One and Done
6.) Pan and Broom
7.) Stairwell Song
8.) Persona Non Grata
9.) Tilt-A-Whirl
10.) Hot Car in the Sun
11.) Forced Convalescence
12.) To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)
13.) Calais To Dover
14.) Comet Song

Related Posts