Brian Setzer Shares “Checkered Flag,” New Album ‘Gotta Have the Rumble’ Coming 8/27

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Aug. 27, Brian Setzer will release Gotta Have The Rumble, his fist solo album in seven years, via Surfdog Records. It’ll be an 11-track album of all original material from the Rockabilly icon, and he previewed it on Friday with a track called “Checkered Flag.”

Here’s an animated music video for the song:

“Obviously, it’s a reference to my motorcycles and hot rods, something that hasn’t changed since I was 15 years old,” said Setzer about his new album and its title. “I still have the same passion for going fast and adrenaline. But it’s also about my hearing problem with tinnitus–the ringing of the ear. It was pretty bad, and I realized that I couldn’t play the way I wanted to. As I recovered, standing in front of a small amplifier just didn’t cut it. The sound from my big amp makes the guitar rumble. Which is a big part of my sound. I was really despondent for a while because I thought I wouldn’t be able to do that again. So, ‘Gotta Have The Rumble’ refers to both of those things.”

Co-writes on the album’s tracks come from James McDonnell, Mike Himelstein and Stephen “Dibbs” Preston.

Click here to pre-order Gotta Have That Rumble on LP from our Rock Cellar Store (Out 12/2021)

1. Checkered Flag
2. Smash Up On Highway One
3. Stack My Money
4. The Wrong Side Of The Tracks
5. Drip Drop
6. The Cat With 9 Wives
7. Turn You On, Turn Me On
8. Rockabilly Riot
9. Off Your Rocker
10. One Bad Habit
11. Rockabilly Banjo

Related Posts