Out Now: ‘Blue Hearts,’ a Poignant and Powerful (and Confrontational) New Album from Bob Mould — Listen

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s perfect, really, that Blue Hearts, the new album from Bob Mould, begins with a song called “Heart On My Sleeve,” because the esteemed singer/songwriter has always been known for letting his thoughts be fully known.

(Click here to pick up Blue Hearts from our Rock Cellar Store).

A topical, timely expression of frustration, it sets the tone for the rest of the record:

The left coast is covered in ash and flames
Keep denyin’ the winds of climate change
Deep South sinking into the sea
But you don’t believe me

Blue Hearts is the 14th solo album from Bob Mould and the follow-up to 2019’s Sunshine Rock. In a statement, Mould referred to the record as “the catchiest batch of protest songs I’ve ever written in one sitting.”

“American Crisis” was the first song shared from the album back in July — and setting the stage for the fury and rage of the record.

“Forecast of Rain” followed (key lyric: “This love thy neighbor thing: Does it apply to all mankind, or only those who fit neatly inside your narrow lines?”): 

When all is said and done, Blue Hearts is one of the most aggressive, emotionally resonant and pissed-off releases from Mould, revered among music circles for his work with Hüsker Dü, Sugar and with his prolific solo career.

The album’s track listing:

1. Heart on My Sleeve
2. Next Generation
3. American Crisis
4. Fireball
5. Forecast of Rain
6. When You Left
7. Siberian Butterfly
8. Everything to You
9. Racing to the End
10. Baby Needs a Cookie
11. Little Pieces
12. Leather Dreams
13. Password to My Soul
14. The Ocean

Stream it below, via Spotify.

Related Posts