Bing Crosby ‘Bing at Christmas’ Orchestral Album Coming Nov. 22

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The holiday season is one steeped in tradition. Family, food, joy, and music — oh yes, the music. And when it comes to Christmas songs, the magical voice of the late, great Bing Crosby is as ubiquitous with the season as anything.

Just listen to this and try not to think of sitting by the fire enjoying some nice hot cocoa:

On Nov. 22, a special new album titled Bing at Christmas will be released. It’s a collection of songs pairing Crosby’s iconic voice with new orchestra arrangements of holiday classics. From the news release:

The new album gives the world the chance to hear these beloved tracks totally transformed, with today’s technical advances. Produced by Nick Patrick, who was behind the hugely successful Elvis Presley, Roy Orbison, and Buddy Holly orchestral albums, Bing at Christmas boasts a unique sound and warmth that sets it apart from past Bing Crosby releases.

As Kathryn Crosby explains, “Hearing Bing’s voice with these completely new, beautifully recorded, orchestral accompaniments makes it seem as though he’s back after all these years. It’s magic.”

Included on the album is Bing’s biggest hit, the 1942 Decca recording of ‘White Christmas.’ This track is not only the epitome of Christmas in song, but the world’s best-selling single, with sales in excess of 50 million copies worldwide and, more recently, achieving over 1.8 billion streams. With an average of 18 million streams on December 25th alone each year, 77 years since its original release the song remains essential listening at Christmas. It is also the most-recorded song of all time. Despite these staggering stats, the song has never been No. 1 in the UK. This year, the Crosby family wants to change that and, in Bing’s memory, get this newly-orchestrated version to its rightful place in the UK charts.

This special announcement was made with the participation of Crosby’s longtime label, Decca, alongside his widow, Kathryn and their children Mary, Harry and Nathaniel Crosby.

Acclaimed vocal group Pentatonix also appears on the album in a new version of the classic song “White Christmas,” as well.

The track listing;

1. “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas”
2. “Sleigh Ride”
3. “Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!”
4. “White Christmas” (featuring Pentatonix)
5. “I’ll Be Home For Christmas”
6. “Jingle Bells” (with The Andrews Sisters) featuring The Puppini Sisters
7. “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”
8. “Do You Hear What I Hear?”
9. “The Christmas Song”
10. “Peace On Earth / Little Drummer Boy” (with David Bowie)
11. “The Twelve Days Of Christmas” (with The Andrews Sisters) featuring The Puppini Sisters
12. “Winter Wonderland”
13. “The Christmas Song” (featuring The Tenors)
14. “White Christmas”

Related Posts