Beck: New Album ‘Hyperspace’ Out Nov. 22, Premieres ‘Uneventful Days’ and ‘Hyperlife’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Genre-bending musical mastermind Beck will return on Nov. 22 with Hyperspace, his 14th studio album and the follow-up to 2017’s Colors, which won the Best Alternative Music Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical at the GRAMMY Awards.

Always one to push the envelope of what people expect from him, Beck premiered the electronic-tinged and slightly ambient “Uneventful Days” as a preview of the new record:

And here’s “Hyperlife”:

The news release for this album cites Hyperspace as Beck’s “most collaborative” album to date, and this description all but sums that up well:

Seven of the album’s 11 tracks—including single “Uneventful Days” and “Saw Lightning” (as featured in the Beats by Dr. Dre Powerbeats Pro campaign and also included with pre-orders)—feature co-writing and co-production from Pharrell Williams. Elsewhere in Hyperspace, “See Through” is co-written/co-produced by frequent Beck collaborator Greg Kurstin, “Star” is co-written/co-produced by Paul Epworth, “Stratosphere” features back-up from Chris Martin, the album’s title track features guest vocals from Terrell Hines, and “Die Waiting” is co-written/co-produced by Cole M.G.N. with backing vocals from Sky Ferreira. Longtime Beck bandmates Jason Falkner, Smokey Hormel and Roger Manning Jr. feature on much of the album as well.

One of the songs on the album is Beck’s collaboration with Pharrell Williams, “Saw Lightning,” which was premiered as a standalone single six months back:

Here’s the album’s track listing:

1. “Hyperlife”
2. “Uneventful Days”
3. “Saw Lightning”
4. “Die Waiting”
5. “Chemical”
6. “See Through”
7. “Hyperspace”
8. “Stratosphere”
9. “Dark Places”
10. “Star”
11. “Everlasting Nothing”

Related Posts