Beck Previews New Album ‘Hyperspace’ with its Dreamy, Haunting Finale, ‘Everlasting Nothing’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Beck has been preparing everybody for his new album, Hyperspace, which will be released next week, on Nov. 22. He’s done so with a handful of songs that have worked together to create significant intrigue around the record, which sounds like it could be one of this strongest and most varied to date.

That’s saying a lot, given the ways Beck has been something of a musical chameleon over the years. Whether jangly indie/rock, glossy pop or subdued, somber compositions like 2002’s Sea Change, the man can do it all.

And on Friday, Beck premiered another track from the record. Titled “Everlasting Nothing,” the song closes out the album and was written and produced by Beck and Pharrell Williams:

That’s a powerful and memorable way to cap off an album, isn’t it?

Teaming up with Williams is an example of the collaborative nature of Hyperspace, which the news release pointed out:

Seven of the album’s 11 tracks—including single “Uneventful Days” and “Saw Lightning” (as featured in the Beats by Dr. Dre Powerbeats Pro campaign and also included with pre-orders)—feature co-writing and co-production from Pharrell Williams. Elsewhere in Hyperspace, “See Through” is co-written/co-produced by frequent Beck collaborator Greg Kurstin, “Star” is co-written/co-produced by Paul Epworth, “Stratosphere” features back-up from Chris Martin, the album’s title track features guest vocals from Terrell Hines, and “Die Waiting” is co-written/co-produced by Cole M.G.N. with backing vocals from Sky Ferreira. Longtime Beck bandmates Jason Falkner, Smokey Hormel and Roger Manning Jr. feature on much of the album as well.

Related Posts