Out Now: Barry Gibb’s ‘Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 1,’ a Lifelong Dream Realized (Listen/Buy)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 1 is a new album from the legendary Barry Gibb of the Bee Gees, and it’s available now. A lifelong dream realized, Greenfields is a collaborative album Gibb recorded with the assistance of super-producer Dave Cobb and a host of country/bluegrass legends.

Click here to pick up Greenfields on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Greenfields on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The impetus behind Greenfields came to Gibb, he said in a CBS Sunday Morning interview last week, was the inspiration he felt from the city of Nashville and its singularly rich musical history:

“I was bitten by Nashville,” he said, “because Nashville is about music. It’s about real songs.”

Collaboration-wise, the list of personnel contributing talent to Greenfields is quite strong:

The album features “twelve of the Gibb Brothers beloved songs reborn,” with Gibb linking up with the likes of Dolly Parton, Keith Urban, Gillian Welch, Jason Isbell, Jay Buchanan, Keith Urban, Little Big Town, Miranda Lambert, Olivia Newton-John, Sheryl Crow and Tommy Emmanuel.

Here’s Gibb and Dolly Parton, who appears on a rendition of the Bee Gees’ “Words”:

Said Barry Gibb in a statement about the project:

“From the first day we stepped into RCA Studios in Nashville (the very place where Elvis, Willie, Waylon, Roy, the Everly Brothers and so many other legends made their magic) the album took on a life of its own. I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by. They were all incredibly generous with their time and talent. They inspired me more than words can express. I feel deep down that Maurice and Robin would have loved this album for different reasons. I wish we could have all been together to do it…but I think we were.”

And Cobb:

“It was truly an honor to work with one of my heroes. The Bee Gees’ first album has always been a staple for me and it was surreal to get to witness the genius of Barry Gibb in the studio—he’s one of the greatest of all time!”

The full track listing:

1. “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You” with Keith Urban
2. “Words of a Fool” with Jason Isbell
3. “Run to Me” with Brandi Carlile
4. “Too Much Heaven” with Alison Krauss
5. “Lonely Days” with Little Big Town
6. “Words” with Dolly Parton
7. “Jive Talkin’” with Miranda Lambert, Jay Buchanan
8. “How Deep Is Your Love” with Tommy Emanuel, Little Big Town
9. “How Can You Mend A Broken Heart” with Sheryl Crow
10. “To Love Somebody” with Jay Buchanan
11. “Rest Your Love On Me” with Olivia Newton-John
12. “Butterfly” with Gillian Welch, David Rawlings

Stream Greenfields below, via Spotify:

The release of Greenfields comes on the heels of the HBO Max premiere of The Bee Gees: How Can You Mend a Broken Heart, an acclaimed documentary film from filmmaker Frank Marshall.

Per its official synopsis, the film chronicles the triumphs and hurdles of brothers Barry, Maurice and Robin Gibb, otherwise known as the Bee Gees. The iconic trio, who found early fame in the Sixties, went on to write over 1,000 songs, including twenty number one hits throughout their storied career. This film follows the Bee Gee’s meteoric rise, as they rode the highs of fame and fortune, negotiated the vagaries of the ever-shifting music business and navigated the complexities of working so intimately alongside family.

Related Posts