Career-Spanning Aretha Franklin Box Set Arriving 7/30, in Time for ‘Respect’ Biopic 8/13

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Aug. 13, Respect, the anticipated and COVID-delayed biopic of Aretha Franklin starring Jennifer Hudson will finally be released — and two weeks earlier, a career-spanning new box set championing the life, career and legacy of the late singer will be available via Rhino.

The simply titled ARETHA, which was originally scheduled for release in 2020, will feature 81 newly remastered tracks, 19 of which will be making their CD/digital debuts, including alternate versions of classic hits, demos, rarities, and live tracks, like her stunning performance of “(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman” at The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors in 2015.

Click here to pick up ARETHA on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up ARETHA on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up ARETHA on 4-CD from our Rock Cellar Store

More on the collection:

To put Franklin’s life and career into perspective, the collection is accompanied by liner notes written by Rochelle Riley, author and director of arts and culture for the City of Detroit, and David Nathan, founder and historian who interviewed Franklin more times than any other living writer. The collection also features stunning artwork by celebrated artist Makeba KEEBS Rainey, who provides her signature style to a classic portrait of the Queen of Soul by renowned photographer Neal Preston. Rhino’s new boxed set will arrive shortly before the premiere of Respect, the highly anticipated biopic about Franklin’s life starring Jennifer Hudson. 

As a preview of the collection, here’s an unreleased studio recording of Aretha Franklin singing the Debbie Boone classic “You Light Up My Life.” While Franklin performed the song on a few occasions live, the studio recording remained in the vault until now.

As for Aretha, here’s a trailer for the much-anticipated cinematic treatment of Franklin’s legacy:

And here’s the track listing for the 4-CD edition of ARETHA:

Disc One
1.    “Never Grow Old”
2.    “You Grow Closer”
3.    “Today I Sing The Blues”
4.    “Won’t Be Long”
5.    “Are You Sure”
6.    “Operation Heartbreak”
7.    “Skylark”
8.    “Runnin’ Out Of Fools”
9.    “One Step Ahead”
10. “(No, No) I’m Losing You”
11. “Cry Like A Baby”
12. “A Little Bit Of Soul”
13. “My Kind Of Town (Detroit Is)” – Demo *
14. “Try A Little Tenderness” – Demo *
15. “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)”
16. “Do Right Woman – Do Right Man”
17. “Respect”
18. “A Change Is Gonna Come”
19. “Chain Of Fools” – Alternate Version
20. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – UK Single Version
21. “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone”
22. “Ain’t No Way”
23. “My Song”
24. “You Send Me”
25. “The House That Jack Built”
26. “Tracks Of My Tears”
Disc Two
1.    “Baby I Love You” – Live
2.    “Son Of A Preacher Man”
3.    “Call Me” – Alternate Version *
4.    “Let It Be”
5.    “Young, Gifted And Black” – Alternate Longer Take *
6.    “Bridge Over Troubled Water” – Long Version
7.    “It’s Not Unusual/See Saw” – with Tom Jones *
     (Originally Broadcast On This Is Tom Jones, October, 9, 1970)
8.    “You’re All I Need To Get By” – Work Tape *
9.    “Brand New Me” – Work Tape *
10. “Spanish Harlem” – Alternate Mix *
11. “Rock Steady” – Alternate Mix/Take
12. “Day Dreaming”
13. “Share Your Love With Me” – Live
14. “Don’t Play That Song” – Live
15. “Dr. Feelgood” – Live
16. “Spirit In The Dark” (Reprise with Ray Charles) – Live
17. “How I Got Over” (Single Edit) – Live
18. “Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)”
Disc Three
1.    “Somewhere” – Alternate Version *
2.    “Angel” – Work Tape *
3.    “The Boy From Bombay” *
4.    “Til It’s Over” – Demo *
5.    “Oh Baby” (a.k.a. “There’s Something Magic About You”) – Demo *
6.    “Until You Come Back To Me” – Work Tape *
7.    “I’m In Love” – Alternate Vocal
8.    “Without Love”
9.    “Mr. D.J. (5 For The D.J.)”
10. “You”
11. “Something He Can Feel”
12. “Look Into Your Heart”
13. “Break It To Me Gently”
14. “When I Think About You”
15. “Almighty Fire (Woman Of The Future)”
16. “Ladies Only” – Short Version
17. “You Light Up My Life” *
18. “Ooo Baby Baby” – with Smokey Robinson *
     (Originally Broadcast On Soul Train, December 1, 1979)
19. “Amazing Grace”
     (Originally Broadcast On Royal Variety Performance, November 23, 1980)
Disc Four
1.    “Think”
2.    “I Say A Little Prayer” – with Dionne Warwick *
3.    “United Together”
4.    “Jump To It”
5.    “The Wind”
6.    “Freeway Of Love”
7.    “Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves” – Eurythmics & Aretha Franklin
8.    “I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) – Aretha Franklin and George Michael
9.    “Oh Happy Day” – with Mavis Staples (Live at New Bethel Baptist Church, Detroit, MI – July 1987)
10. “A Rose Is Still A Rose”
11. “Someday We’ll All Be Free”
12. “The Makings Of You”
13. “Nessun Dorma” – Live
14. “At Last” – with Lou Rawls *
     (Originally Broadcast On American Soundtrack: Rhythm, Love And Soul, March 2003)
15. “You’ve Got A Friend” – Ronald Isley featuring Aretha Franklin
16. “Rolling In The Deep” – The Aretha Version
17. “My Country ’Tis Of Thee”
18. “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” – Live *
     (Originally Broadcast On The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors, December 19. 2015)

Related Posts