Arctic Monkeys Preview New Album ‘The Car’ with Video for “There’d Better Be a Mirrorball” (LP Out 10/21)

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Last week, stylish, genre-bending English rock/indie band Arctic Monkeys returned with news of a new record, The Car, scheduled for release on Oct. 21.

The first official preview of the album landed on Tuesday, and “There’d Better Be a Mirrorball” is a customarily slick recording from the band, fronted as always by vocalist/guitarist Alex Turner.

Here’s its video, directed by Turner himself:

The Car features 10 new songs written by Turner, produced by James Ford and recorded at a variety of studios, including Butley Priory, Suffolk, RAK Studios, London and La Frette, Paris.

It will be Arctic Monkeys’ seventh overall and first since 2018’s Tranquility Base + Casino. That record saw the band taking massive creative leaps from its early material, which started with 2006’s breakthrough Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not and hit a masterstroke in 2013 with AM, landing on many Best Of lists and was released to near-universal acclaim.

Click here to pre-order The Car on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Car on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The band has also been playing another new track, “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am,” recently at live gigs. Here’s fan footage:

A news release promises that The Car finds the band running wild in a new and sumptuous musical landscape and contains some of the richest and most rewarding vocal performances of Alex Turner’s career.

The track listing:

1. There’d Better Be A Mirrorball
2. I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am
3. Sculptures Of Anything Goes
4. Jet Skis On The Moat
5. Body Paint
6. The Car
7. Big Ideas
8. Hello You
9. Mr Schwartz
10. Perfect Sense

Related Posts