Arctic Monkeys: New Album ‘The Car’ Out 10/21; Watch a Clip of “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am”

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Arctic Monkeys, the stylish, genre-defying English rock outfit fronted by band leader Alex Turner, will get back after it on Oct. 21 with a new studio album.

Titled The Car, it will feature 10 new songs written by Turner, produced by James Ford and recorded at a variety of studios, including Butley Priory, Suffolk, RAK Studios, London and La Frette, Paris.

Officially detailed on Wednesday, the album will be the Arctic Monkeys’ seventh overall and first since 2018’s Tranquility Base + Casino. That record saw the band taking massive creative leaps from its early material, which started with 2006’s breakthrough Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not and hit a masterstroke in 2013 with AM, landing on many Best Of lists and was released to near-universal acclaim.

While no official single release accompanied the album announcement, Arctic Monkeys have been recently been playing one of the album’s tracks, “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am,” live. Here’s fan footage of that as a preview:

A news release promises that The Car finds the band running wild in a new and sumptuous musical landscape and contains some of the richest and most rewarding vocal performances of Alex Turner’s career.

Click here to pre-order The Car on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Car on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing:

1. There’d Better Be A Mirrorball
2. I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am
3. Sculptures Of Anything Goes
4. Jet Skis On The Moat
5. Body Paint
6. The Car
7. Big Ideas
8. Hello You
9. Mr Schwartz
10. Perfect Sense

Related Posts