Alice Cooper Shares New Song, ‘Our Love Will Change the World’; ‘Detroit Stories’ LP Out 2/26

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Alice Cooper is known as the father of “shock-rock,” but his new song “Our Love Will Change the World” just might shock you for a different reason: It’s surprisingly upbeat and hopeful .. at least with its delivery.

Featuring a bouncy rhythm, the track was shared on Friday:

Said Cooper of the track in a statement:

“I think “Our Love Will Change The World” is one of the oddest songs I’ve ever done and it was one that came to us by somebody else, another Detroit writer. And it was so strange, because it was happy and what it was saying was anything but happy – it was simply a great juxtaposition. And I got it immediately and said “okay, this is going to be great”. The music saying one thing and the lyrics saying something else, I love that song. It is totally different from anything else on the album.”

The song is taken from Cooper’s upcoming album, Detroit Stories, which will be released on Feb. 26, 2021.

Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on CD+DVD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The lead single from Detroit Stories is a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “Rock & Roll,” which was shared in recent weeks:

For this recording, Cooper (real name Vincent Furnier) collaborated with Johnny “Bee” Badanjek (Detroit Wheels), Steve Hunter (Detroit), Paul Randolph (legendary Detroit jazz and R&B bassist) and special guests Joe Bonamassa and Tommy Henriksen (for this occasion, crowned “Honorary Detroiters”) , each of which provides the track with significant authenticity.

Detroit Stories features guest appearances from key musical figures from the scene, including MC5’s Wayne Kramer, Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny ‘Bee’ Badanjek and bassist Paul Randolph.

Los Angeles had its sound with The Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield,” said Alice Cooper in a statement. “San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had The Rascals and The Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the epicenter for angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the US (musically or image-wise) Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound.

“Detroit seemed to be a haven for the outcasts. When they found out I was born in East Detroit … we were home.”

The album combines the forces of Cooper and producer Bob Ezrin, who first linked up way back in 1970:

50 years later Alice and Ezrin gathered some legendary Detroit musicians in a Detroit studio to record Detroit Stories, Alice Cooper’s new album that celebrates that spirit for a new era. If 2019’s “Breadcrumbs” EP laid down the trail to the city, Detroit Stories drives like a muscle car right down Woodward Ave.

Here’s the album’s track listing:

1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Related Posts