Alice Cooper: New Album ‘Detroit Stories’ Out in February; First Single Coming 11/13 (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s only appropriate that Alice Cooper, unabashed “shock-rock” legend and all-around icon, chose Friday the 13th to release a new single. That’s exactly what he’s doing on Nov. 13 when he debuts a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “Rock and Roll” as the lead single from his new album, Detroit Stories.

The record is set for a release on Feb. 26, 2021, and finds the man born Vincent Furnier paying homage to the city from which he originated, specifically the “angry hard rock” music that developed out of the scene.

Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on CD+DVD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Detroit Stories features guest appearances from key musical figures from the scene, including MC5’s Wayne Kramer, Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny ‘Bee’ Badanjek and bassist Paul Randolph.

Los Angeles had its sound with The Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield,” said Alice Cooper in a statement. “San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had The Rascals and The Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the epicenter for angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the US (musically or image-wise) Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound.

“Detroit seemed to be a haven for the outcasts. When they found out I was born in East Detroit … we were home.”

Alice Cooper (Photo: Jenny Risher)

Alice Cooper (Photo: Jenny Risher)

The album combines the forces of Cooper and producer Bob Ezrin, who first linked up way back in 1970:

50 years later Alice and Ezrin gathered some legendary Detroit musicians in a Detroit studio to record Detroit Stories, Alice Cooper’s new album that celebrates that spirit for a new era. If 2019’s “Breadcrumbs” EP laid down the trail to the city, Detroit Stories drives like a muscle car right down Woodward Ave.

Here’s the album’s track listing:

1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Related Posts