Alice Cooper Drops New Song ‘Social Debris’ to Celebrate His 73rd Birthday (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Today, Feb. 4, marks the 73rd birthday of Vincent Furnier — perhaps better known to us all as Alice Cooper.

To mark the occasion, Cooper picked today to share another new song from his upcoming album, Detroit Stories. The record is due out later this month on Feb. 26, and this song is “Social Debris.”

Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on CD+DVD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Detroit Stories on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

As the shock-rock legend said in a statement, “Social Debris” was written a “a gift to Detroit, to my fans and to myself.

The track was written by the original Alice Cooper band. 

We never thought that we would ever fit in; the Alice Cooper band didn’t fit in with anybody, because we were doing things that no other band did. We didn’t fit in with the folk scene, we didn’t fit in with the metal scene, we really didn’t fit in with anything that was going on at that time. We just always felt like we were outsiders. We felt like we were social debris, we were in our own little world. So “Social Debris” was just the original band writing a song about us, essentially. And it came out sounding like it belonged into 1971. That’s just the original band – you can’t change that, it’s great.”

Stream it below:

The lead single from Detroit Stories was a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “Rock & Roll,” which was shared in recent weeks:

As was an original tune, “Our Love Will Change the World”:

For this recording, Cooper collaborated with Johnny “Bee” Badanjek (Detroit Wheels), Steve Hunter (Detroit), Paul Randolph (legendary Detroit jazz and R&B bassist) and special guests Joe Bonamassa and Tommy Henriksen (for this occasion, crowned “Honorary Detroiters”) , each of which provides the track with significant authenticity.

Detroit Stories features guest appearances from key musical figures from the scene, including MC5’s Wayne Kramer, Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny ‘Bee’ Badanjek and bassist Paul Randolph.

Los Angeles had its sound with The Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield,” said Alice Cooper in a statement. “San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had The Rascals and The Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the epicenter for angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the US (musically or image-wise) Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound.

“Detroit seemed to be a haven for the outcasts. When they found out I was born in East Detroit … we were home.”

The album combines the forces of Cooper and producer Bob Ezrin, who first linked up way back in 1970:

50 years later Alice and Ezrin gathered some legendary Detroit musicians in a Detroit studio to record Detroit Stories, Alice Cooper’s new album that celebrates that spirit for a new era. If 2019’s “Breadcrumbs” EP laid down the trail to the city, Detroit Stories drives like a muscle car right down Woodward Ave.

Here’s the album’s track listing:

1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Related Posts