Meet Envy of None, the New Band Featuring Rush’s Alex Lifeson (Stream “Liar,” Pre-Order the Debut LP in April)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Alex Lifeson, revered guitarist of Rush and an absolute icon, has a new project in the works. Titled Envy of None, it’s both a new band and a debut album, which will officially arrive on April 8 via Kscope.

The exciting news was made official on Wednesday and came with the premiere of an atmospheric track called “Liar,” an introductory note of sorts for the band, which also features bassist Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), producer/engineer Alfio Annibalini and singer Maiah Wynne:

A news release emphasizes the presence throughout the project of Wynne, with Lifeson vocalizing how impressive a musical presence she is:

“Maiah became my muse. She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like Liar and Look Inside. After hearing her vocals on Never Said I Love You, I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!”4

“One of my favourite things about these songs is the intimacy of them,” added Wynne. “It makes them feel different and more honest. There are some heavier songs too, like Enemy, and then tracks like Kabul Blues, that sound completely different to anything else.”

The album will include 11 songs, including two Lifeson debuted on his website back in June, accompanying news of a new Epiphone model guitar. Those two tracks, initially premiered as instrumentals, were “Kabul Blues” and “Spy House.”

Click here to pre-order Envy of None on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Envy of None on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing for the Envy of None debut record:

1. Never Said I Love You
2. Shadow
3. Look Inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. Dog`s Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

Full personnel listing for the band and album:

Alf Annibalini – Guitar, Keyboards, Programming
Andy Curran – Bass Guitar, Synthesized Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone
Alex Lifeson- Guitar, Mandola, Banjo, Programming
Maiah Wynne – Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

Related Posts