Hear ‘Polar Bear,’ a Blisteringly Epic New Anthem from Alcatrazz — First New Album Since 1986 Coming on 7/31

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s been a LONG time since the world heard from Alcatrazz in the form of a new album — and on July 31, the heavy metal band will release Born Innocent, the first new album from the band since 1986.

That’s 34 years between records, 34 years since Alcatrazz released Dangerous Games, to date its third studio album.

Born Innocent was previewed this week with a blistering, powerful song titled “Polar Bear,” delivered by vocalist Graham Bonnet, Alcatrazz founding members Jimmy Waldo and Gary Shea alongside guitarist Joe Stump, making his studio debut with the band.

Some pretty decent shredding from Stump in that song, huh? He joins the impressive list of guitarists to lay down riffs for the band over the years, an ensemble that has included both Steve Vai and Yngwie Malmsteen, among others.

As for “Polar Bear,” here’s Bonnet describing the song’s origin:

“I heard those words “polar bear” and thought it’s an intriguing title because it sounds all cuddly and nice, but it’s not. It’s a story of how when the Eskimo got too old, they would take their lives by sitting in snow, freezing to death and letting the polar bear take the body. The polar bear was very prominent in their lives as a God and also as a way of committing suicide, which is kind of awful. But when an Eskimo loses all his teeth and he could no longer eat, he would lose his strength obviously and then become a weak old man. He could no longer contribute to the tribe, he’d feel his life was useless and so he’d walk out into the snow and sacrifice himself to the bear.”

More about the new record:

1. Born Innocent
2. Polar Bear
3. Finn McCool
4. We Still Remember
5. London 1666
6. Dirty Like The City
7. I Am The King
8. Something That I Am Missing
9. Paper Flags
10. The Wound Is Open
11. Body Beautiful
12. Warth Lane
13. For Tony
Graham Bonnet – Vocals
Joe Stump – Guitars
Jimmy Waldo – Keyboards
Gary Shea – Bass
Mark Benquechea – Drums

Produced by Giles Lavery and Jimmy Waldo
Mixed, mastered and edited by Andy Haller

Related Posts