Out Now: ‘Saving for a Custom Van’, a 31-Song Tribute to Adam Schlesinger Benefiting MusiCares’ COVID-19 Relief Fund

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On April 1, esteemed musician/songwriter/composer Adam Schlesinger died at just 52 years of age due to complications caused by the coronavirus.

Schlesinger was a beloved figure in the music business, his contributions as a key member of Fountains of Wayne inspiring to many, not to mention the fact that he wrote the theme song to the Tom Hanks comedy/drama That Thing You Do!.

A new tribute album was released online paying homage to Schlesinger, featuring contributions from several of his musical friends and colleagues. Titled Saving for a Custom Van, the compilation is exclusively available on Bandcamp, with 100 of proceeds benefiting MusiCares’ COVID-19 Relief Fund.

A notable contribution to the album comes from Rachel Bloom, the co-creator/star of the CW series Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Bloom, who transforms Fountains of Wayne’s “Stacy’s Mom” into a jazzy number, worked closely on the show with Schlesinger, who composed many of the songs featured in the musical comedy.

Jack Dolgen, who also composed and performed music for Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, performs “What It’ll Be,” a Schlesinger composition heard in the program. The song was featured in the first season:

More, per a news release:

Other musicians on the compilation tackle Fountains of Wayne songs (Letters to Cleo’s Kay Hanley, “Radiation Vibe”; Motion City Soundtrack, “Dip in the Ocean”; Nada Surf, “Sick Day”; Vivian Girls/Upset member Ali Koehler, “Hackensack”), while Ivy songs are also well-represented (Belly members Tanya Donelly and Gail Greenwood, “Undertow”; Ted Leo, “Everyday”; HUNNY, “Tess Don’t Tell.”)

The full track listing for the Adam Schlesinger tribute album, which can be streamed/purchased here:

1. Apex Manor – Utopia Parkway
2. Tanya Donelly and Gail Greenwood – Undertow
3. Jeff Rosenstock – Please Don’t Rock Me Tonight
4. Kay Hanley – Radiation Vibe
5. Ben Lee and Sarah Silverman – Way Back Into Love
6. Remember Sports – Just the Girl
7. Rachel Bloom – Stacy’s Mom
8. Christian Lee Hutson – Red Dragon Tattoo
9. Sad13 – A Fine Day For a Parade
10. Jack Dolgen – What’ll It Be
11. Motion City Soundtrack – A Dip in the Ocean
12. Field Mouse – Valley Winter Song
13. Cheekface – That Thing You Do
14. Lucy Stone – I’ve Got a Flair
15. Nada Surf – Sick Day
16. Jody Porter – Four in the Morning
17. Suzy Shinn and Charlie Brand – All Kinds of Time
18. Ted Leo – Everyday
19. Potty Mouth – I’ve Got A Feeling
20. Cocktails – Sink to the Bottom
21. Bree McKenna – Our Twisted Fate
22. Ethan Eubanks – Troubled Times
23. Ali Koehler – Hackensack
24. Charly Bliss – Pretend to Be Nice
25. Julian Velard and Alex Dezen – Michael and Heather at the Baggage Claim
26. HUNNY – Tess Don’t Tell
27. Mikey Erg – Hey Julie
28. Off Book and the Family Band – Come On
29. Prince Daddy & The Hyena and Just Friends – Mexican Wine
30. Lisa Prank – Little Red Light
31. Joshua Stoddard – Survival Car

Related Posts